DragonPrime - LoGD Resource Community
Welcome Guest
  • Good afternoon, Guest.
    Please log in, or register.
  • July 18, 2018, 01:13:16 PM
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search
* * *
DragonPrime Menu
Login
 
 
Resource Pages
Search

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Ocean Quest by DaveS V5.25  (Read 23463 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
DaveS
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544


Dfly... you know, as in DaveFly


View Profile
« on: January 22, 2007, 09:00:26 AM »

What hope does Pilinoria have against the ambitious Evil Sorceror Xavicon?

Pilinoria, the land of art and beauty, has long been an ally to your kingdom. However, the King of Pilinoria is suddenly cutting off trade. Why? What is the mystery?

You'll need your wits, your sword, and your perseverance to restore trade and communication between your kingdom and Pilinoria.

Are you ready for the challenge?

About Ocean Quest:
Okay, taking a little different approach, I wrote this module as a long-playing adventure. Players will need to visit the Docks in the Forest to learn more about what's going on.  Talk to soldiers, bartenders, fishermen, and begin the adventure.  If you catch Captain Crouton, the biggest fish in the sea, your name will be revered forever*!

The module is quite complicated and  I started by writing the walkthrough.  In order to preserve the mystery I will send copies of the walkthrough to administrators ONLY by request; it is not bundled with the module. The basic premise is that you must go to the land of Pilinoria and defeat the evil sorceror that has taken control of the King.  There's fishing, fighting, collecting, notarizing, polymorphing... there's even a forest in the new kingdom! Once the adventure is complete there is still a lot that players can do so the module will continue to have playability after the mystery is solved for them.

This is a little over 4,000 lines of code so I have a feeling that there are bugs throughout.  Please let me know what needs to be fixed.

*not really forever.

Modules that Enhance (but are not required):
Lumberyard, MetalMine, Quarry, Bear HoF, trading, alignment, jobs, drinks, outhouse

Core Modules that are required (but you have running anyway):
hof, bank

Available for Download:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?module=Downloads;sa=dlview;id=1180
« Last Edit: November 13, 2008, 08:37:49 AM by DaveS » Logged

Check out my Last Module:
The Dragon Eggs Expansion
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=8474.0

About my Retirement:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=9080

See my complete module list here:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=3038.0
Nightborn
Guest
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2007, 10:12:13 AM »

Please...
the first Version is not V5.0

-_-

it was okay when you took it over, but when you make a new one, start with the first whole number after 0. Which is 1.

I wonder what happends when you completely revise a module, want to make a large version change and name it v 5.x .... instead of v6.
Logged
Kalisiin
Guest
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2007, 10:13:15 AM »

OK...I'm going to give this a whirl, and help test this out...looks like a fab piece of work!!
Logged
Middleclaw
Codemeister
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 254


You said what?


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2007, 11:33:18 AM »

Please...
the first Version is not V5.0

I think DaveS has a thing for the number 5  Tongue

EDIT (after DaveS posted below): Me, personally, I don't care what the starting version number is as long as it works and there is a logical numbering system to the version numbers.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2007, 11:41:26 AM by Middleclaw » Logged

DaveS
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544


Dfly... you know, as in DaveFly


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2007, 11:37:49 AM »

Okay seriously... I'm just going to put up a huge explanation of my Version numbering system on my main module page.

For now, let's all just concede that, although some may not like my version numbering system, it keeps me happy.  And after all, isn't that what you guys really want?
Logged

Check out my Last Module:
The Dragon Eggs Expansion
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=8474.0

About my Retirement:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=9080

See my complete module list here:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=3038.0
Talisman
Administrator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5479



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2007, 12:18:55 PM »

Okay seriously... I'm just going to put up a huge explanation of my Version numbering system on my main module page.

For now, let's all just concede that, although some may not like my version numbering system, it keeps me happy.  And after all, isn't that what you guys really want?

I'm not sure...I kinda like the image of you miserably pounding away at your keyboard chained to the stone wall of some dank dungeon somewhere...

er...

Yes, let's keep Dave happy  Grin
Logged

Play the latest beta version here on DragonPrime
Kalisiin
Guest
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2007, 02:24:37 PM »

I like when Dave is happy.  Dave makes me happy by helping me with MY coding when the else/if loops start driving me bananas!!

Actually, I think he has this as 5.0 because it is modularized.

The mod Dave and I have been working on should be ready soon.  I did the coding cjunnks and some of the sewing it together...he added a few cool concepts, and brought the whole thing together with the correcting of my else/if loops - I always seem to forget a parenthesis, a bracket a curvy bracket or an apostrophe somewhere and end up with a parse error I can never seem to actually find!!
Logged
Kalisiin
Guest
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2007, 08:20:08 AM »

I have a player reporting two bugs.
I am cutting and pasting the Petitions here...

[description] = The link for the Free Stone also takes you to the Albania

[description] = I try to go on to the Rhodando it always takes me to the Albania instead. The link for the Albania does also take you to the Albania. So it appearse there is no link to get to the Rhodando working.

I went and tried there out and noticed that the URL's appear to be working correctly, it does show, repectively, Freestone and Rhodondo in the web URL address...but the big yellow name of the boat at top center for both of these still reads "The Albania"

THAT is what she is seeing, I think.  So I think the links are working right, but you have the wrong boat name in those two places.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2007, 08:26:16 AM by Kalisiin » Logged
DaveS
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544


Dfly... you know, as in DaveFly


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: January 25, 2007, 09:10:49 AM »

V5.01

Fixed the ship problem...

Here's a little secret though... it doesn't matter too much because the Albania, Rhodondo, and the Free Stone don't do anything.  Ever.

Logged

Check out my Last Module:
The Dragon Eggs Expansion
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=8474.0

About my Retirement:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=9080

See my complete module list here:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=3038.0
Kalisiin
Guest
« Reply #9 on: January 25, 2007, 12:00:04 PM »

thanks.  I sorta suspected that, anyway.  Managed to figure out how to get on the Corinth, and the Luckstar, but have not yet gotten on LKuckstar, but I know HOW now...

P.S. Oh, Dave, you sneaky, sneaky fellow!!  I LOVE IT!!  I love where you hid the third piece of the pass....hee hee hee!!
« Last Edit: January 25, 2007, 01:24:14 PM by Kalisiin » Logged
DaveS
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544


Dfly... you know, as in DaveFly


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2007, 11:23:25 AM »

V5.02

A couple really small tweaks; one with a graphic.  Nothing too bad though; so far the module's been holding up pretty well.

Thanks to Kalisiin for debugging.
Logged

Check out my Last Module:
The Dragon Eggs Expansion
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=8474.0

About my Retirement:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=9080

See my complete module list here:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=3038.0
Kalisiin
Guest
« Reply #11 on: January 29, 2007, 01:06:03 PM »

No problem, this module has been a lot of fun.  I'm just really, really good at solving quests....I'm not giving anything away, but this is REALLY good!!
Logged
DaveS
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544


Dfly... you know, as in DaveFly


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: February 03, 2007, 07:19:53 PM »

V5.2

New version that allows you to use the Allprefs Editor to make user management much easier.

Also, debugged some small things and also added a city location limit.

Allprefs Editor Available for Download Here:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?module=Downloads;sa=dlview;id=1190
Logged

Check out my Last Module:
The Dragon Eggs Expansion
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=8474.0

About my Retirement:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=9080

See my complete module list here:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=3038.0
DaveS
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544


Dfly... you know, as in DaveFly


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: February 11, 2007, 09:03:13 PM »

V5.21

Okay, so I decided to make this a little more user-friendly and server-friendly.  I have added 2 settings and 2 user_ preferences.

The 2 settings allow you to disable:
1.  The graphical interface: This is the use of maps to move around.  For many people this slows the module down quite significantly.  It makes the module a little "shorter" in that people don't have to take the time to "walk down the throne room aisle" or to "sail across the sea".

2.  The pictures:  Remove the little pictures of the Decree and the locations in Pilinoria by turning this off.

The preferences allow your players to decide if you leave them on.

Defaults leave things on.

I hope this helps!
Logged

Check out my Last Module:
The Dragon Eggs Expansion
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=8474.0

About my Retirement:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=9080

See my complete module list here:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=3038.0
owlmoons
Guest
« Reply #14 on: February 24, 2007, 01:17:17 PM »

Seems we dont get to fish more then once.. its says when going to buy more bait to come back the next day.. is this part of the module and can we change this?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


*
DragonPrime Notices
Welcome to DragonPrime - The LoGD Resource Community!

Support Us
No funds raised yet this year
Your help is greatly appreciated!
Recent Topics
DragonPrime LoGD
Who's Online
30 Guests, 0 Users
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search