Warning: preg_replace_callback(): Requires argument 2, '$func['entity_fix']('\2')', to be a valid callback in /nfs/c01/h06/mnt/10927/domains/dragonprime.net/html/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Increasing site speed
DragonPrime - LoGD Resource Community
Welcome Guest
  • Good morning, Guest.
    Please log in, or register.
  • September 21, 2019, 10:19:28 AM
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search
* * *
DragonPrime Menu
Login
 
 
Resource Pages
Search

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Increasing site speed  (Read 8360 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Nighthawk873
Guest
« on: May 04, 2006, 07:36:15 PM »

I wish to make my site  http://www.wheezingweasel.com/core faster. Do I have to un-install modules or can I just deactivate them?
Logged
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2006, 09:29:44 PM »

Did you turn the datacaching feature on?
Logged

Running for more than three years now:
Nighthawk873
Guest
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2006, 10:09:23 PM »

no should I have?
Logged
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2006, 10:53:40 PM »

Yes, that might help speeding up your server (although it didn't seem so slow this morning) Wink
Logged

Running for more than three years now:
Nighthawk873
Guest
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2006, 11:07:16 PM »

Where should I store the data cache information? Thanks for the help :-D
Logged
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2006, 11:13:55 PM »

Ask your server host, where temp files should be stored. Enter this information. Also ask him, if it is possible to have a temp ptah located on a RAM-drive... Wink
Logged

Running for more than three years now:
Nighthawk873
Guest
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2006, 11:22:30 PM »

Can I make a directory called www.wheezingweasel.com/temp/ on my webspace?
« Last Edit: May 04, 2006, 11:25:43 PM by Nighthawk873 » Logged
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2006, 11:29:38 PM »

you can, but you mustn't give the web-path but the path on the server's hard disk. If you don't know it, ask your host Smiley
Logged

Running for more than three years now:
Nighthawk873
Guest
« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2006, 12:12:01 AM »

I dont actually have my own server. I use 1and1.com, but can I create my own directory and store the files there.
Logged
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2006, 12:13:28 AM »

You have a server... Maybe not your own. But your page is running on a server. And you need that path. Smiley
Logged

Running for more than three years now:
artti
Member
Captain of the Guard
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 176



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2006, 12:15:32 AM »

I would be happy too, if can make my game faster. Can i do that on High Load Optimization?
« Last Edit: May 05, 2006, 12:24:12 AM by artti » Logged
Nightborn
Guest
« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2006, 12:27:30 AM »

yes artti, turn your datacache on Wink

you have a phptmp dir in your folder, use it.

with 250-500 queries/page every hoster is going down with 5+ users online at a time.
Logged
Nighthawk873
Guest
« Reply #12 on: May 05, 2006, 12:29:00 AM »

What other ways can I improve my sites speed? If I want to remove a module to make it faster, can I deactvate it or do I have to uninstall it and remove it from the modules directory?
Logged
Nightborn
Guest
« Reply #13 on: May 05, 2006, 12:30:54 AM »

module from hooks should get loaded only when they are active (little time in between as the cache needs a refresh).

so deactivation is ok.
Logged
Nighthawk873
Guest
« Reply #14 on: May 05, 2006, 12:34:30 AM »

Ok, because my site( www.wheezingweasel.com/core ) is slowly getting slower for some reason...earlier today it was at .95 seconds, now it is at Page gen: 1.5s / 684 queries, Ave: 1.08s
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


*
DragonPrime Notices
Play LoGD on Dragonprime

Support Us
No funds raised yet this year
Your help is greatly appreciated!
Recent Topics
DragonPrime LoGD
Who's Online
75 Guests, 0 Users
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search