DragonPrime - LoGD Resource Community
Welcome Guest
  • Good morning, Guest.
    Please log in, or register.
  • November 23, 2017, 03:04:40 AM
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search
* * *
DragonPrime Menu
Login
 
 
Resource Pages
Search

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Signet Series Dungeons Package V5.22  (Read 26875 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
DaveS
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544


Dfly... you know, as in DaveFly


View Profile
« on: April 25, 2006, 05:11:13 PM »

This is a pack of five dungeons and a storefront (six modules total).
The storefront is used to purchase the maps.

Current Version: 5.22
All Modules should have the same version number.

The dungeons are based on a game from 1985 called Phantasie.

Goal:
Explore the first four dungeons to collect the four elemental signets.  Then go to the fifth dungeon to take on the Evil Lord.

How to install the Signet Series Dungeons:
1. Drop all files (except the readme.txt file which may be deleted) into your modules folder.
2. Install the signetsale.php module (all other modules require its installation)
3. Install signetd1, signetd2, signet d3, signet d4, and signetd5

NOTE:
If you have previously installed the dungeons before this final release you should delete all the files from previous releases.  I have consolidated the image files into one file and placed all the files in a single subdirectory.

Advice for Administrators:
1.  Spread out the dungeons if you have multiple cities and set them at staggered dragonkill numbers.
2.  Carefully consider if you want to change the prices of the maps in the map store; I wrote that module with the default prices to balance out the experience gained in the dungeons.
3.  Review the reward for killing the final Boss in the 5th Dungeon.  There are many settings that allow you to customize the rewards based on the balance in your server.
4.  Feel free to make any changes to the files that you want to customize the dungeons for your server.  If you have suggestions or find errors, please contact me.
5.  Please be aware that this may be a server-intensive package.

Enjoy!

If you have corrections, please try to add them in the appropriate discussion listed below:

Discussions for Each Module:
Signet Sale: http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=3855.0
Signet Maze 1: Aria Dungeon: http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=3857.0
Signet Maze 2: Aarde Temple: http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=3888.0
Signet Maze 3: Wasser's Castle: http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=3927.0
Signet Maze 4: Fiamma's Fortress: http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=4064.0
Signet Maze 5: Dark Lord's Lair: http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=4268.0

Download at:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?module=Downloads;sa=dlview;id=972

See my other modules here:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=3038.0
« Last Edit: March 01, 2008, 02:29:11 PM by DaveS » Logged

Check out my Last Module:
The Dragon Eggs Expansion
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=8474.0

About my Retirement:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=9080

See my complete module list here:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=3038.0
DaveS
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544


Dfly... you know, as in DaveFly


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2006, 10:38:50 AM »

V4.01

Just a little tweak to the 5th dungeon to get the announcements correct.
Not a huge upgrade... but what's a perfectionist to do?
Logged

Check out my Last Module:
The Dragon Eggs Expansion
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=8474.0

About my Retirement:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=9080

See my complete module list here:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=3038.0
ShadowRaven
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 805


Silence is a virtue...


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2006, 11:40:48 AM »

So is it only the #5 dungeon file thats been changed, or were there also changes made in other files as well?
I only ask because I don't see a point in uploading all files again if only one has been changed lol
Logged

DaveS
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544


Dfly... you know, as in DaveFly


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2006, 11:47:27 AM »

It was only the 5th dungeon that was updated...

However, I haven't figured out a good way to keep it uniform so I changed the version number on all the other files to 4.01.

So... if you want to do the easy route, just upload all six of the primary files (not the ones in the folders) it will do the trick.

If you want to be really lazy, you can just replace the 5th dungeon.  I'll try to be more clear on where upgrades are in the future. Smiley
Logged

Check out my Last Module:
The Dragon Eggs Expansion
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=8474.0

About my Retirement:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=9080

See my complete module list here:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=3038.0
ShadowRaven
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 805


Silence is a virtue...


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2006, 12:03:33 PM »

lol ok, I'll just be semi-lazy and just upload the primary files then, hehe. thanks, and great work as usual Smiley
Logged

Kala
Codemeister
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 479

Who Me?


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2006, 03:52:24 PM »

Just wondering if you considered using the clear_module_pref when a player complete's a maze.  Only as I noticed there were quite a lot of location preferences, and figure that if a player has completed the maze and the link disappears, that those location pref's aren't referred to again, would just free up some of the db.  On a small server probably not a big deal, but on a site with 400 players, even if only 1/4 play it, thats (on average of 30 prefs per maze) 1500 prefs sitting there once completed all 5, that they won't need again Smiley *just an idea*
Logged

~Why are there only 24 hours in a day, what I could do with an extra 1 ~
http://www.timerealms.net
http://www.legendofshrell.com
DaveS
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544


Dfly... you know, as in DaveFly


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2006, 06:39:43 PM »

I'll take a look at doing that for the next release...

(Yeah... probably will end up being a lot of coding to clear all those preferences, but I understand your concerns.)
Logged

Check out my Last Module:
The Dragon Eggs Expansion
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=8474.0

About my Retirement:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=9080

See my complete module list here:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=3038.0
kickme
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1589


Yay for elephants!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 28, 2006, 01:31:20 AM »

If you're level one, some of the baddies end up as lvl 0, giving a division by zero error
Logged

Waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka
DaveS
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544


Dfly... you know, as in DaveFly


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: April 28, 2006, 07:53:50 AM »

Aww man... what are level 1 people doing exploring the dungeons?

I'll take a look at each of the modules.  I'll also try to fix that clear prefs thing too.

Expect a new release sometime with some fixes. Smiley
Logged

Check out my Last Module:
The Dragon Eggs Expansion
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=8474.0

About my Retirement:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=9080

See my complete module list here:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=3038.0
DaveS
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544


Dfly... you know, as in DaveFly


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: April 28, 2006, 10:17:57 AM »

I was wondering if people wanted to have a setting that would allow players to repeat the dungeons.

I'm not a real big fan of the idea; especially since they will be much better at "abusing" the dungeons if this is the case.  I could create a setting such that they could go and repeat the dungeons after x number of dragon kills or something like that.

The reason why i bring this up is that it would be a way for the module to get more playtime.  However, it will take a little bit of work to actually write all the modifications so I don't think I will do it unless there is significant reason to.
Logged

Check out my Last Module:
The Dragon Eggs Expansion
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=8474.0

About my Retirement:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=9080

See my complete module list here:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=3038.0
DaveS
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544


Dfly... you know, as in DaveFly


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: April 28, 2006, 10:58:00 AM »

V4.02

Several fixes here...
1.  Repaired the level-0 division by zero error. (Thanks kickme)
2.  Repaired a mistake in the signetsale file.
3.  Added clear_module_pref for all the dungeons when they are completed. (thanks for the suggestion Kala)

There have been tweaks to all the files except the Image folder, so the upgrade should be made for all the modules.
Logged

Check out my Last Module:
The Dragon Eggs Expansion
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=8474.0

About my Retirement:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=9080

See my complete module list here:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=3038.0
Zanzaras
Captain of the Guard
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 219


*Snipe*


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: April 28, 2006, 01:43:35 PM »

Hey Dave,

I just checked this out for the first time. This is pretty cool! I do have one suggestion. I notice that everytime you are about to enter a new area the description for that area appears as a gold heading above the dungeon map. It would be nice if this heading would stay there while you were in that area. Say for instance, you enter a musty old room with lots of garbage, it would display that the entire time you are there. Of course, you could always forgo the use of the heading for plain old hallways and such.

Just an idea I thought I'd toss your way. Good job on the module!

Logged

"Intelligence is like a river, the deeper it is the less noise it makes."
DaveS
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544


Dfly... you know, as in DaveFly


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: April 28, 2006, 01:51:31 PM »

Actually, I thought about doing that with the gold heading... however, it would be harder to do than you think.

Essentially, I'd have to map out the location for every square of the dungeon, then expand the current line of code:
elseif ($locale=="871") output("`c`b`^A Large Hall with Great Columns`c`b`0");

to look more like this:
elseif ($locale=="871" || $locale=="771" || $locale=="767"  || $locale=="768"  || $locale=="769"  || $locale=="770"  || $locale=="771"  || $locale=="772"  || $locale=="773"  || $locale=="774"  || $locale=="775"  || $locale=="776"  || $locale=="777"  || $locale=="778"  || $locale=="779"  || $locale=="780"  || $locale=="781" || $locale=="682") output("`c`b`^A Large Hall with Great Columns`c`b`0");

Now, I suppose I could make an array of all the different locations and set it up so that it switches based on a preference...

I may have to think about that.  It may be more work to do than I want at this point.  If only you had mentioned it 5 months ago!! Smiley

Logged

Check out my Last Module:
The Dragon Eggs Expansion
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=8474.0

About my Retirement:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=9080

See my complete module list here:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=3038.0
kickme
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1589


Yay for elephants!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: April 28, 2006, 02:01:56 PM »

Could you make it so that if you leave through an emergency exit, that you come back in from that exit?
Logged

Waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka waka
Zanzaras
Captain of the Guard
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 219


*Snipe*


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: April 28, 2006, 02:06:27 PM »

Actually, I thought about doing that with the gold heading... however, it would be harder to do than you think.

Essentially, I'd have to map out the location for every square of the dungeon, then expand the current line of code:
elseif ($locale=="871") output("`c`b`^A Large Hall with Great Columns`c`b`0");

to look more like this:
elseif ($locale=="871" || $locale=="771" || $locale=="767"  || $locale=="768"  || $locale=="769"  || $locale=="770"  || $locale=="771"  || $locale=="772"  || $locale=="773"  || $locale=="774"  || $locale=="775"  || $locale=="776"  || $locale=="777"  || $locale=="778"  || $locale=="779"  || $locale=="780"  || $locale=="781" || $locale=="682") output("`c`b`^A Large Hall with Great Columns`c`b`0");

Now, I suppose I could make an array of all the different locations and set it up so that it switches based on a preference...

I may have to think about that.  It may be more work to do than I want at this point.  If only you had mentioned it 5 months ago!! Smiley

Ugh! that would be a lot of trouble! If I get really bored at work in the next few weeks, I may do that for you, unless you come up with a better way of doing it.
Logged

"Intelligence is like a river, the deeper it is the less noise it makes."
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


*
DragonPrime Notices
Please take the time to read the FAQ and browse the DragonPedia

Support Us
No funds raised yet this year
Your help is greatly appreciated!
Recent Topics
DragonPrime LoGD
Who's Online
22 Guests, 0 Users
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search