DragonPrime - LoGD Resource Community
Welcome Guest
  • Good evening, Guest.
    Please log in, or register.
  • August 23, 2017, 10:02:43 PM
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search
* * *
DragonPrime Menu
Login
 
 
Resource Pages
Search

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How can I do this ?  (Read 3352 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Excalibur
Member
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 573


I'm a newbie, plz forgive me!


View Profile WWW
« on: April 27, 2004, 10:02:13 AM »

First of all, I'm not a PHP programmer, I've learned what I know reading and looking at code of LoGD.

I've done few quest and special events and I have this problem:
I need to pass some variables (6) to the script itself and I've been able to do that only throu addnav, something like:
Code:
addnav("Enter the Labirynth","labirinto.php?op=labirinto&x=1&y=2 etc etc);
but I don't want to let players see them in the address URL. I've tried with global but I'm not able to keep it work correctly.
Beside that I don't want to create 6 fields in the DB, I only want that those variables keep alive when the script calls itself. How can I do that ?
Can anyone help me ?

I've been able to write and get script working, but I don't like it  Roll Eyes

You can find the script Here

Thx Excalibur
Logged

Spock: Random chance seems to have operated in our favor.
McCoy: In plain, non-Vulcan English, we've been lucky.
Spock: I believe I said that, Doctor.
Talisman
Administrator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5470



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2004, 10:10:45 AM »

Why do you want to conceal that?  If it's to prevent players from modifying their next nav to load, that should be prevented by the game code already.
Logged

Play the latest beta version here on DragonPrime
strider
Guest
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2004, 10:11:09 AM »

Have you thought of passing them into the "Special Vars" patch? They wouldn't show up in your add-nav and they'd be on the SpecialVars table linked by user IDs.
Logged
Excalibur
Member
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 573


I'm a newbie, plz forgive me!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2004, 10:14:44 AM »

Why do you want to conceal that?  If it's to prevent players from modifying their next nav to load, that should be prevented by the game code already.
It's to prevent player to see their position, and position of treasure and ravine in the labirynth Wink
Logged

Spock: Random chance seems to have operated in our favor.
McCoy: In plain, non-Vulcan English, we've been lucky.
Spock: I believe I said that, Doctor.
Excalibur
Member
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 573


I'm a newbie, plz forgive me!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2004, 10:16:15 AM »

Have you thought of passing them into the "Special Vars" patch? They wouldn't show up in your add-nav and they'd be on the SpecialVars table linked by user IDs.
I haven't installed SpecialVars patch  Embarrassed
I'll have a look at it asap. Thx for suggestion
Logged

Spock: Random chance seems to have operated in our favor.
McCoy: In plain, non-Vulcan English, we've been lucky.
Spock: I believe I said that, Doctor.
Talisman
Administrator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5470



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2004, 10:16:25 AM »

It's to prevent player to see their position, and position of treasure and ravine in the labirynth Wink


Makes sense...wish I had a solution for you...
Logged

Play the latest beta version here on DragonPrime
robert
Old Dog
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1047


LoGD Buff!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2004, 10:36:16 AM »

RE:
Beside that I don't want to create 6 fields in the DB, I only want that those variables keep alive when the script calls itself. How can I do that ?
Can anyone help me ?

Yes - using the specialvars may serve your purpose and avoiding db field creation is what specialvars is all about  Smiley

We all look foward to you sharing your quests with us - from the ones I have seen and played with - it will be a special treat for us all here at dragon prime and the players also. Smiley
Logged

Kendaer
Guest
« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2004, 02:46:57 PM »

The only way to do it where a determined user couldn't find out the information is via storing the info on the server.  You could possibly store it in $session[] just not under $session['user'][] if you didn't want to store it in the database via specialvars or something else.
Logged
Excalibur
Member
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 573


I'm a newbie, plz forgive me!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2004, 09:28:18 AM »

I've given up  Undecided
As I've installed eslotto I use his fields already in DB for my pourpose  Wink

Thx all for suggestions

Excalibur
« Last Edit: April 29, 2004, 09:28:48 AM by Excalibur » Logged

Spock: Random chance seems to have operated in our favor.
McCoy: In plain, non-Vulcan English, we've been lucky.
Spock: I believe I said that, Doctor.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


*
DragonPrime Notices
Welcome to DragonPrime - The LoGD Resource Community!

Support Us
No funds raised yet this year
Your help is greatly appreciated!
Recent Topics
DragonPrime LoGD
Who's Online
21 Guests, 0 Users
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search