DragonPrime - LoGD Resource Community
Welcome Guest
  • Good evening, Guest.
    Please log in, or register.
  • May 26, 2017, 11:19:43 PM
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search
* * *
DragonPrime Menu
Login
 
 
Resource Pages
Search

Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How to make modules 'translation ready'  (Read 31836 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Nightborn
Guest
« Reply #30 on: August 13, 2006, 02:31:48 PM »

http://wiki.dragonprime.net/index.php?title=Translation_Wizard

check out the two FAQs at the start.  Smiley
Logged
TheNightRider
Guest
« Reply #31 on: August 13, 2006, 02:42:36 PM »

For f.. err sorry, I had only 4 hours of sleep last night and i can't concentrate, just give me the path and I'll do the rest myself...
Logged
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #32 on: August 13, 2006, 09:26:23 PM »

I you have translated the files themselves you have done the wrongest possible thing.

And if you have editted core files, you are out there on your own.
Logged

Running for more than three years now:
TheNightRider
Guest
« Reply #33 on: August 14, 2006, 02:47:42 AM »

*wakes up and sees the topic* OMG, I didn't edit anything. o.0

I just don't get how this translator works, and how the translated modules work with it.. is that so wrong?! Or maybe i should steal an already translated site with unlegitemised measures.. yes that would be it. Thanks for all the help.
Logged
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #34 on: August 14, 2006, 02:51:05 AM »

The translator ist fairly easy.

You may look at these two topics:
http://wiki.dragonprime.net/index.php?title=Translation_FAQ_%28Admins%29
http://wiki.dragonprime.net/index.php?title=Translation_FAQ_%28Coders%29

These will help you on how to translate your game and how to make modules "translation ready".

The upper link will explain all questions you might have if you want to translate your game, so you should start with this.

Logged

Running for more than three years now:
TheNightRider
Guest
« Reply #35 on: August 14, 2006, 03:06:36 AM »

Okay, I've worked with Nuke-Evolution, Invision Power, phpBB, vBulletin, Joomla, e107... basicly most of the CMS's out there, but I must say this one is the *hardest* one I've ever worked on... if you just make a /languages/ folder or something like that it will be *a lot* easier...


gotta get some beer. cheers.


-Night
Logged
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #36 on: August 14, 2006, 03:16:18 AM »

Not really...

Translation is completely database driven... No need to have any files... You can translate any text you see in the game DIRECTLY when you see it... And you don't have to browse through a 10MB large file... Smiley
Logged

Running for more than three years now:
TheNightRider
Guest
« Reply #37 on: August 14, 2006, 03:23:09 AM »

database driven.. only makes it heavyer... lol


err... this system is a total failure.. i don't wish to insult anyone, but there is a *lot* to improve, i'm giving up on the dragon. cheers, you may not hear from me again


(and i think that u'd be glad not to Tongue )


-cheers, Night
Logged
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #38 on: August 14, 2006, 03:36:57 AM »

You are comparing to totally different approaches... It's like saying "An airplane takes much more fuel than a bicycle so the bicycle is always better..."
Logged

Running for more than three years now:
TheNightRider
Guest
« Reply #39 on: August 14, 2006, 04:04:18 AM »

I didn't mean to say that. What I meant is - the game is great! But there are still some issues...
Logged
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #40 on: August 14, 2006, 04:05:29 AM »

Yes, you are right... There are some issues... But... Which version were you testing? 0.97? 1.06? 1.10? 1.11snapshot?
Logged

Running for more than three years now:
Boofo
Member
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 774


View Profile
« Reply #41 on: June 25, 2007, 03:55:49 AM »

Okay, I've worked with Nuke-Evolution, Invision Power, phpBB, vBulletin, Joomla, e107... basicly most of the CMS's out there, but I must say this one is the *hardest* one I've ever worked on... if you just make a /languages/ folder or something like that it will be *a lot* easier...

I know this thread is old but if you have worked with vBulletin then you know that the phrases for translation are DB driven also. Wink
Logged

chmod a+x /bin/laden -- Allows anyone the permission to execute /bin/laden
Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


*
DragonPrime Notices
Welcome to DragonPrime - The LoGD Resource Community!

Support Us
No funds raised yet this year
Your help is greatly appreciated!
Recent Topics
DragonPrime LoGD
Who's Online
20 Guests, 0 Users
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search