DragonPrime - LoGD Resource Community
Welcome Guest
  • Good afternoon, Guest.
    Please log in, or register.
  • May 21, 2018, 03:28:17 PM
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search
* * *
DragonPrime Menu
Login
 
 
Resource Pages
Search

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Maintenance Module  (Read 3076 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Megan|SaraBeth
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1046



View Profile WWW
« on: April 16, 2009, 04:57:28 PM »

is a module that has a page that takes you away from the game totally and to a page that says under maintenance and will be back soon.....or what ever you want it to say and has the site logo.  that would be cool if someone could code it for me.  i know its out there somewhere. but i cant code it myself.  the module would work by being activated and deactivated when not needed.

the only people the module would allow into the game would be the superusers
« Last Edit: April 16, 2009, 05:01:15 PM by SaraDayBella » Logged

RaynDarren
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 732


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2009, 05:04:41 PM »

This module is contained within the Core Files for version 1.1.1. It is called serversuspend.php.

~Rayn
Logged

Megan|SaraBeth
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1046



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2009, 07:10:09 PM »

i know but i dont want the log in page to show.  i want a totally different page to show.  i want a new page.  a page that says under maintenance or what ever i want and i only want my logo on it.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2009, 07:41:07 PM by SaraDayBella » Logged

DaveS
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544


Dfly... you know, as in DaveFly


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2009, 09:20:12 PM »

Did you have an idea of how much you were offering someone to write your custom module for you?

I mean, I don't want to sound rude, but there seems to be a module out there that does 99% of what you want but you want something customized and that seems more like a module that you may have to commission someone to write.
Logged

Check out my Last Module:
The Dragon Eggs Expansion
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=8474.0

About my Retirement:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=9080

See my complete module list here:
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?topic=3038.0
Elessa
Faerie
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3598


short, sweet and to the point


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2009, 11:19:28 PM »

seems to me no module is needed as there is a basic solution.

simply use the editor of choice to create a new index.php file using HTML with your logo and message, rename index.php to something like realindex.php, upload new index.php file using ftp, do maintenance. when finished rename the new index.php file to deactivate it and  rename the old index.php back to its original file name. anyone who comes to the page will see whatever ye have put into the new index.php file.

seriously, you can use MSWord to create the HTML document and save it in a web format if so inclined.  i can't think of a simpler way of doing it yourself since ye are the admin for the site and know what it is ye want. i would be surprised if ye don't have access to MSWord. it comes with a help function that is pretty extensive in explanations of how to use it.
« Last Edit: April 16, 2009, 11:59:25 PM by Elessa » Logged

Uuma ma ten rashwe, ta tuluva a lle

Play the latest beta version here on LoGD DragonPrime - Axebridge
Megan|SaraBeth
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1046



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2009, 07:43:48 PM »

thank you Elessa that is exactly what i wanted to know so i didnt have to remove everything and only have the one page on there.  you are such a big help.

Logged

Adept
Codemeister
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 279

I'm a llama!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2009, 08:08:35 PM »

simply use the editor of choice to create a new index.php file using HTML with your logo and message, rename index.php to something like realindex.php, upload new index.php file using ftp, do maintenance. when finished rename the new index.php file to deactivate it and  rename the old index.php back to its original file name. anyone who comes to the page will see

also need to do with home.php as all index.php does is redirect to home.php.
a bookmark may bypass index.php
Logged
Megan|SaraBeth
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1046



View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2009, 09:56:22 PM »

i got it down good guys.  i did figure out on my own it was the home.php file.  that wasnt hard.  i giot it well thank you very much!
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


*
DragonPrime Notices
Please take the time to read the FAQ and browse the DragonPedia

Support Us
No funds raised yet this year
Your help is greatly appreciated!
Recent Topics
DragonPrime LoGD
Who's Online
28 Guests, 1 User
Aeolus
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search