DragonPrime - LoGD Resource Community
Welcome Guest
  • Good morning, Guest.
    Please log in, or register.
  • April 19, 2019, 08:14:32 AM
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search
* * *
DragonPrime Menu
Login
 
 
Resource Pages
Search

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Translation  (Read 5447 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Excalibur
Member
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 573


I'm a newbie, plz forgive me!


View Profile WWW
« on: August 25, 2004, 01:17:18 PM »

Still about Crazy Audrey.
Should I tranlate the name of animal (or sound that animal makes) in module or there's a button I don't see in translation tool ?

Thanks in advance
Excalibur
Logged

Spock: Random chance seems to have operated in our favor.
McCoy: In plain, non-Vulcan English, we've been lucky.
Spock: I believe I said that, Doctor.
SaucyWench
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2238


I'm a good girl.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2004, 01:41:30 PM »

No... these are module settings. You can just set them yourself in the Grotto.
Logged

SaucyWench
Owner of GemDust.com and Darton City proudly hosted by LunarPages
Excalibur
Member
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 573


I'm a newbie, plz forgive me!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2004, 01:47:32 PM »

Thanks Saucy  Smiley
Logged

Spock: Random chance seems to have operated in our favor.
McCoy: In plain, non-Vulcan English, we've been lucky.
Spock: I believe I said that, Doctor.
Spider
Guest
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2004, 04:19:58 PM »

surely that would make translations pointless.  If the name of the animals isn't translated then it won't be right on a multi language server, which is the entire reason the translation tool is there...

unless of course I've missed something and you can set different language names for the animals, in which case my bad.
Logged
SaucyWench
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2238


I'm a good girl.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2004, 04:24:29 PM »

I think you're misunderstanding. The animal names are freeform text boxes. If you want to type in "snails" that is fine. If you prefer "escargot" then no problem. You would translate Audrey's actual text, but the animal names are typed in by the admin.
Logged

SaucyWench
Owner of GemDust.com and Darton City proudly hosted by LunarPages
anpera
Guest
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2004, 05:51:57 PM »

Most servers only offer one language. That's because language in commentaries will most likely be what is set as default language of the server. Translation doesn't work here, too Wink

The name of the pet is given by the admin in the language of the server. But it is possible to offer multiple translation for the given name:

in crazyaudrey.php changing

   $animal = ucfirst(get_module_setting("animal"));
   $sound  = get_module_setting("sound");


to

   $animal = ucfirst(translate_inline(get_module_setting("animal")));
   $sound  = translate_inline(get_module_setting("sound"));


makes it possible to enter translations for any given name and sound.
(Well, you'll run in trouble with the plural()-function that works for english only and the strtolower() which is not good for example for our german ever uppercase nouns. For that operations you'll need additional "translate_inline()"s and additional translations for plural form and lower case form Wink )

There is no line "// translation ready" in the file crazyaudrey.php so I guess it's just too early to translate it (just look at the navs' namespaces).
Logged
Kendaer
Guest
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2004, 10:48:14 PM »

Also, there are some things that just don't make sense to be translated/translateable and Eric and I decided to not mess with them.

foremost among these are the names of armor/weapons and titles.

Basically the rule (in English) is that if (for instance) someone had a German title, we'd use that German title when addressing them in English.

Similarly for many 'proper nouns'.  I tend to treat the names of arms/armor that way, and pretty much consider Audrey's pets that way (as well as the pet sound).

So while Anpera is correct that Audrey hasn't been made translator ready yet, the other people are also correct in that the names of the animals won't be translated/translateable either in the way the code is being done much for that reason.

Basically I'm going to take things like that on a case-by-case basis.
Hope this helps.
Logged
Excalibur
Member
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 573


I'm a newbie, plz forgive me!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2004, 12:34:26 AM »

Well, you'll run in trouble with the plural()-function that works for english only
Yeah, this is the biggest problem in italian too, where plural varies case-by-case Sad
I think I'll have to live with many grammar error for singular-plural cases, there's nothing to do in italian to solve it Cry
« Last Edit: August 26, 2004, 12:34:52 AM by Excalibur » Logged

Spock: Random chance seems to have operated in our favor.
McCoy: In plain, non-Vulcan English, we've been lucky.
Spock: I believe I said that, Doctor.
SaucyWench
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2238


I'm a good girl.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: August 26, 2004, 01:36:52 AM »

One possible solution might be to have two text boxes, one for singular and one for plural. It probably would not solve everything, but I know that Kendaer and MightyE had to jump through hoops for animals like sheep/sheep, monkey/monkeys, puppy/puppies, octupus/octopi. For instance in Finnish you would have ufo/ufot. I'm not familiar enough with Italian and German to know if it differs depending on where it is in the sentence, though.
Logged

SaucyWench
Owner of GemDust.com and Darton City proudly hosted by LunarPages
Excalibur
Member
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 573


I'm a newbie, plz forgive me!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: August 26, 2004, 01:56:37 AM »

I'm not familiar enough with Italian and German to know if it differs depending on where it is in the sentence, though.
No, in italian the position of the word in phrase doesn't affect the sing/plural, but there are so many exception that you can't use any rule to determine which is the plural for any word.
For me the best solution is to have two separate words for sing/plural (Kendaer, have you heard me ?  Grin)
Logged

Spock: Random chance seems to have operated in our favor.
McCoy: In plain, non-Vulcan English, we've been lucky.
Spock: I believe I said that, Doctor.
Excalibur
Member
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 573


I'm a newbie, plz forgive me!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2004, 04:27:11 AM »

Again about translation  Grin
Dark Horse Tavern (the old man games specifically) doesn't seems to be translation ready, as in the box I find you have won 100 gold instead of you have won %s gold. Same for Crazy Audrey, Mightye Weaponry I'll give you `^1181`# instead of I'll give you `^%s`# and few other script, but I don't remember which was  Grin

A strange case regards Ye Old Mail: I've translated at least 4 times, but each time the window pop up it's still non-translated  Huh

Let me know Kendaer if you want me to report any module that it isn't translation ready.

Rgds Excalibur
« Last Edit: August 28, 2004, 05:41:06 AM by Excalibur » Logged

Spock: Random chance seems to have operated in our favor.
McCoy: In plain, non-Vulcan English, we've been lucky.
Spock: I believe I said that, Doctor.
anpera
Guest
« Reply #11 on: August 28, 2004, 05:40:59 AM »

All files that are translator ready have the following line on top of them:

// translator ready

Files that don't have that line are not ready (or not checked) for translation yet.
Even files with "// translator ready" in them often don't use the right namespaces for their navs and *could* be changed in the next prerelease if errors or typos were found. (In pre.5 this affects bank.php for example.)

That makes it really difficult to translate it at this point of development, because you have to change namespaces in database and sometimes must translate some parts again with each new release and delete the old translation manually. But it helps to find errors in the translator tool and in the system and typos in the original text. Wink

The only module I found to be completely translator ready yet is the weather module.

Ye olde mails have to be translated with the namespace of the sending file. For example if you get a mail telling you that you received 100 gold, it must be translated with namespace "bank" and not with "mail". (That's because bank.php puts the message together and the mail popup window only can show the complete message without any %s. I don't think this will be changed in any future release, but maybe ....)
mail.php itself is not checked if it's translator ready in pre.4 (no "// translator ready" in the file).
Logged
Excalibur
Member
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 573


I'm a newbie, plz forgive me!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: August 28, 2004, 05:46:02 AM »

Thank you Anpera for pointing me to the //Translation Ready// remark, I hadn't pay attention to that  Grin

Logged

Spock: Random chance seems to have operated in our favor.
McCoy: In plain, non-Vulcan English, we've been lucky.
Spock: I believe I said that, Doctor.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


*
DragonPrime Notices
Welcome to DragonPrime - The LoGD Resource Community!

Support Us
No funds raised yet this year
Your help is greatly appreciated!
Recent Topics
DragonPrime LoGD
Who's Online
89 Guests, 1 User
Eliwood
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search