DragonPrime - LoGD Resource Community
Welcome Guest
  • Good afternoon, Guest.
    Please log in, or register.
  • May 26, 2019, 01:11:42 PM
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search
* * *
DragonPrime Menu
Login
 
 
Resource Pages
Search

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Weather mod  (Read 5197 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Talisman
Administrator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5484



View Profile WWW
« on: August 18, 2004, 09:40:27 PM »

Weather mod 1.0, ported from my setweather mod

Features configurable village messages, activate or deactivate weather effects on special skill groups.

http://dragonprime.net/users/Talisman/weather.zip
« Last Edit: August 19, 2004, 12:27:13 AM by Talisman » Logged

Play the latest beta version here on DragonPrime
SaucyWench
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2238


I'm a good girl.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2004, 11:26:24 PM »

WOOT! Can't wait to play around with this, thanks! =)
Logged

SaucyWench
Owner of GemDust.com and Darton City proudly hosted by LunarPages
Kendaer
Guest
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2004, 11:54:03 PM »

First comment:
Please use <?php as the opening bit rather than <?.
A lot of servers have turned off the <? short tags and people invariably don't know how to fix this.. 0.9.8 code has gone to using <?php everywhere.

Second comment:
A better distribution rather than a text file would be a zip file containing weather.php.
This would allow people to install this mod without remembering that they MUST rename it to weather.php Smiley

Third comment:
Code:
switch(e_rand(3,3)){
Always returns 3.  This is probably not what you want Smiley

Fourth comment:
While I understand the desire for 'flavorful' text, 'ye' clashes with the standard of 'informative' text being in modern english Smiley  Ye is fine in dialogue, but should probably be kept as 'you' for the informative messages.
Logged
Talisman
Administrator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5484



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2004, 12:28:48 AM »

I'll buy that for a dollar...

Noted things fixed, uploaded and link above updated  Wink
Logged

Play the latest beta version here on DragonPrime
Talisman
Administrator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5484



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2004, 03:13:54 PM »

Just uploaded a version slightly modified by Kendaer, which includes translation code friendly variables.

Enjoy  Smiley
Logged

Play the latest beta version here on DragonPrime
mProwler
Guest
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2004, 11:33:32 PM »

Nice mod, Talisman. Smiley

Just one thing though.. shouldn't you hook onto the "village-desc" hook, instead of just plain "village"..?  

Reason being, one of my custom village events displays text in the village when it's done.  Normally, both village.php and forest.php catch this, and don't display their own texts (including the village-desc hook) .. however, the "village" hook comes after that "if" statement, and therefore, even after my module runs, the weather is displayed as if they were in the village. Smiley

I've changed the hook in your module, and it works as it should.. However, I believe the village-desc hook in village.php is in the wrong place, because your weather report ends up between the "stocks" and the "new user" lines.  

To fix this, I moved the module hook in village.php to occur right after the new user line.  Kendaer might want to change this in the next prerelease, as it seems like this would be a more appropriate place for the hook.
Logged
Kendaer
Guest
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2004, 11:00:28 AM »

Actually, he put it on the village hook specifically so that he would come after the new user.  The new user in the village is supposed to be the last line of the village desc in order to call some attention to them which is why I ordered things that way.

The 'right' solution would be to allow a per-hook priority rather than always using modulename.   This would allow the weather report to be told to run 'first' and thus it'd show up before any of the stocks/etc messages.

This might or might not get done before 0.9.8-pre.5 at which point I'll change the weather hook around.  He put it on the village hook so that it would in fact show up at the end after the rest of the description however.

I know this sounded disjointed, sorry. Smiley
Logged
mProwler
Guest
« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2004, 11:22:38 AM »

Understood. Grin  I wasn't so much worried about the placement of it.. just worried about it showing up when it shouldn't.

Thanks for your hard work, Kendaer. Smiley

Regards,
-mP
Logged
Shadeless
Captain of the Guard
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 231


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2013, 03:06:28 AM »

Hi

Is there any possibility that in every citiy the weather is different?

I Use the the weather module + weathermodule plus.

thanks

Shadeless
Logged
Nder'
Codemeister
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 256


Google is our savior!


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: February 04, 2013, 02:37:42 PM »

For anyone else that requires this module, you will find it located here  .



[Modified to fix link...don't use " " around the url!]

[Modified again to thank Talisman -Ced]
« Last Edit: February 05, 2013, 04:22:05 AM by Cedric » Logged

insert sympathy here

Message me!
Shadeless
Captain of the Guard
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 231


View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2013, 02:45:53 PM »

link doesnt work, but i found it.

thanks.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


*
DragonPrime Notices
Play LoGD on Dragonprime

Support Us
No funds raised yet this year
Your help is greatly appreciated!
Recent Topics
DragonPrime LoGD
Who's Online
92 Guests, 1 User
Daenerys
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search