DragonPrime - LoGD Resource Community
Welcome Guest
  • Good morning, Guest.
    Please log in, or register.
  • September 19, 2018, 10:13:09 AM
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search
* * *
DragonPrime Menu
Login
 
 
Resource Pages
Search

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Admin FAQ Submissions  (Read 10336 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Talisman
Administrator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5479



View Profile WWW
« on: November 29, 2005, 08:41:59 PM »

Got something you think should be included in an FAQ for server admins?  Post it here and I'll consider it for inclusion.  This is only for things pertaining to administrating a server; not for installations or upgrades.

Post in the format of a question followed by the answer. (Make sure you read the existing thread and FAQs to avoid duplicates)  

Changes to existing entries may also be submitted here.
« Last Edit: November 29, 2005, 08:45:07 PM by Talisman » Logged

Play the latest beta version here on DragonPrime
Sichae
iMod God
SVN Users
Mod God
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3458


If ya didn't get it by now... you're hopeless...


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2005, 08:54:49 PM »

Why won't my races or shops show up? I set their min DK to 0...

Well, this is probably due to you having the Isle of Wen (newbieisland.php) installed. This causes all of those fun modules to be blocked in order to not overload a new player. Disabling this module or getting off the island shall correct this.
Logged

If you didn't understand anything in the above post, don't try to attempt anything suggested.

SaucyWench
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2238


I'm a good girl.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2005, 02:54:06 AM »

None of the ordinary users can log in, and I have this strange red message when I log in to my Admin account.

Disable the serversuspend module.
Logged

SaucyWench
Owner of GemDust.com and Darton City proudly hosted by LunarPages
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2005, 02:58:47 AM »

I installed the most recent version and now everytime I want to go to my page it says, this domain has moved, but it hasn't!
Disable the module "Domain Has Moved Notifier" (domain_move.php, Administrative module).
In general you should only activate modules, if you know what they'll do.
Logged

Running for more than three years now:
Sichae
iMod God
SVN Users
Mod God
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3458


If ya didn't get it by now... you're hopeless...


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2005, 12:09:04 PM »

I got a message that one of my characters/players is perma-dead and I don't know what to do!

This is stating that they somehow ended up with less than, or equal to, 0 maxhitpoints. To correct this, simply go into the User Editor and change the maxhitpoints value to something other than 0.
Logged

If you didn't understand anything in the above post, don't try to attempt anything suggested.

Talisman
Administrator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5479



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2005, 12:20:55 PM »

I got a message that one of my characters/players is perma-dead and I don't know what to do!

This is stating that they somehow ended up with less than, or equal to, 0 maxhitpoints. To correct this, simply go into the User Editor and change the maxhitpoints value to something other than 0.

This should be expanded, with more detailed information on the fix, cause and cure.  

There's no restriction on the length of a FAQ entry, and the main objective is to provide a fix without the user having to post asking for clarifications...
Logged

Play the latest beta version here on DragonPrime
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2005, 12:26:40 PM »

This problem could also be fixed by disabling the module "globalhp".
Logged

Running for more than three years now:
Sichae
iMod God
SVN Users
Mod God
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3458


If ya didn't get it by now... you're hopeless...


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2005, 12:28:51 PM »

I got a message that one of my characters/players is perma-dead and I don't know what to do!

This is stating that they somehow ended up with less than, or equal to, 0 maxhitpoints. What this means, is that a module didn't correctly calculate the 150 HP that is taken away at a dragonkill, due to the setting back to level 1.

To correct this, simply go into the User Editor and change the maxhitpoints value to something other than 0. Or, you can disable the module globalhp.php. It can also be remedied by removing the offending module to lessen newer occurances.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2005, 12:32:45 PM by Sichae » Logged

If you didn't understand anything in the above post, don't try to attempt anything suggested.

SaucyWench
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2238


I'm a good girl.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2005, 09:31:23 PM »

Great addition =) But while this one has been expanded on by others, it would ideally be in the language the *player* will use in the petition. (Players won't know what perma-dead is, and admins may not immediately realise.)

A player petitioned that they always die as soon as they log in, ending up straight in the Shades after the News Page! or As soon as I log in I have 0 hitpoints and I die!

This is where the admin should look into the bio and will probably see that the player has just completed a Dragon Kill, at which point 140 hitpoints are automatically stripped.

The short-term player solution is to set maximum hitpoints to 10x level, manually. Long term solution is to investigate which non-core modules are allowing the user's hitpoints to go down below the "prescribed minimum" of 10x level.

EDIT: Global HP won't always fix it. If a module allows me to go below the prescribed minimum and another module affects me at New Day, the two modules combined could potentially set me to -5 HP.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2005, 09:34:20 PM by SaucyWench » Logged

SaucyWench
Owner of GemDust.com and Darton City proudly hosted by LunarPages
Nightborn
Guest
« Reply #9 on: December 06, 2005, 04:31:24 AM »

How do I code something?

Well... You have the code... Look at the module "forestturn". Understand, why that works (and how)... Then start your own forest special.
Then do something for travel / village / graveyard.
Start with simple things (A fountain where you can wash and gain 1 charm or 1 gem for example...)

Then increase the level... Make it so, that dwarves get a malus from washing or they can find gems more often...

Then insert a choice. "Do you want to clean yourself? Yes/no" and if that's working you could try a shop, selling soap...

Just don't try to do something great at the very beginning. Very many modders have ceased their work because they wanted to code something beyond their abilities. Keep that idea.. but learn how to stand before you try to run

(credits: xchrisx)

« Last Edit: March 08, 2006, 02:15:34 AM by Nightborn » Logged
Jdrid
Guest
« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2006, 10:02:49 PM »

I'd like to say something on the perma-dead idea. Many people I talk to say this happens a lot because of the Tynan The Body Builder Module, as it can affect hitpoints by a lot, in a decreasing way.

On another LoGD site, in the village the shops had non-default names! How can I do this?(xchrisx pointed this out)
Go to the edit user part of the superuser grotto, then find your player name. Then check the flag "Enable Translator Tool". Click the red box by an item you wish to change and type what you wish to go there in the text box below the default type.
Logged
SaucyWench
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2238


I'm a good girl.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2006, 03:02:42 PM »

Tynan can NOT cause perma dead alone. He was fixed to prevent this. He will not allow you to train below the "prescribed minimums" of 10HP x level. He simply tells you that you aren't strong enough.

Someone correct me if this has been proven incorrect, however, Kendaer and I spent quite a bit of time testing him with Petra to stop her from killing people at New Day.
Logged

SaucyWench
Owner of GemDust.com and Darton City proudly hosted by LunarPages
Talisman
Administrator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5479



View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: March 08, 2006, 04:48:19 PM »

In what version was that fix released?  Martin is running 1.0.5   
Logged

Play the latest beta version here on DragonPrime
Sichae
iMod God
SVN Users
Mod God
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3458


If ya didn't get it by now... you're hopeless...


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: March 08, 2006, 05:05:19 PM »

The fix has probably been in since before 1.0.0, but the new settings for the globalhp.php have only been in since 1.0.3. Either way, he should have this fixed file.
Logged

If you didn't understand anything in the above post, don't try to attempt anything suggested.

Jdrid
Guest
« Reply #14 on: March 08, 2006, 08:19:01 PM »

ok then, that's good to know. Although I do not have Tynan installed(only because of this problem here) I might place it back. Thanks for clearing that up.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


*
DragonPrime Notices
Play LoGD on Dragonprime

Support Us
No funds raised yet this year
Your help is greatly appreciated!
Recent Topics
DragonPrime LoGD
Who's Online
31 Guests, 0 Users
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search