DragonPrime - LoGD Resource Community
Welcome Guest
  • Good morning, Guest.
    Please log in, or register.
  • January 23, 2018, 03:44:09 AM
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search
* * *
DragonPrime Menu
Login
 
 
Resource Pages
Search

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Dragon Editor  (Read 5792 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Ironman
Guest
« on: November 20, 2005, 08:46:40 AM »

In my 0.97 game, which will be upgraded to 1.0.x in the near future, I have made changes to dragon.php which seriously increase how tough the dragon is based on the number of dk's.  I know dragon.php did this already, but my system is a bit more simplistic and makes for a much more challenging dragon, which my players simotaneously love and hate. Smiley

I have been pondering over a module which will allow admins a "Dragon Editor" in the Superuser Grotto, where the Superuser can define:

- The Green Dragon's base max hit points
- The Dragon's base attack
- The Dragon's base defense
- How much the above 3 stats increase with each DK
 
To give a better idea, here's the code I have in my current dragon.php under 0.97:

$dkmultiplier = $session[user][dragonkills];
$dattack = 66 + (3 * $dkmultiplier);
$ddefense = 48 + (2 * $dkmultiplier);
$dhealth = 450 + (50 * $dkmultiplier);

$badguy = array("creaturename"=>"`@The Green Dragon`0","creaturelevel"=>18,"creatureweapon"=>"Great Flaming Maw","creatureattack"=>$dattack,"creaturedefense"=>$ddefense,"creaturehealth"=>$dhealth, "diddamage"=>0);

For the variables dattack, ddefense, and dhealth, the first value is the base number and the second value is the incremental number.

I'm figuring a green_dragon table will need to be created by the module, and I believe the core dragon.php will need to be replaced with one that will call the values from the green_dragon table, but that's as far as I got.

Does anyone think this is a good idea?  Would someone like to assist me in making this module come alive for 1.0.x?

Thanks!
Logged
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2005, 08:58:19 AM »

There is no need to replace the dragon.php ...

With any module you could change the strength of a dragon with your own calculation.

If you have any questions how to do this, please feel free to ask Smiley (Either here, so every one might benefit from the knowledge transfer or by PM if you feel, this would be better. Smiley )
Logged

Running for more than three years now:
Mindbender
Member
Captain of the Guard
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 190

I don't mind, so what.


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2005, 09:04:13 AM »

I think this is already done in the Random Dragon Module by Arune

http://dragonprime.net/index.php?board=17;action=display;threadid=1547
Logged
Sichae
iMod God
SVN Users
Mod God
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3458


If ya didn't get it by now... you're hopeless...


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2005, 09:11:51 AM »

The Dragon Buffercizer of Core is an optimal example of this type of modding.
Logged

If you didn't understand anything in the above post, don't try to attempt anything suggested.

scooter2
Guest
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2005, 10:39:14 AM »

I know at our site we have it set to easy, that is cause most of the people there dont like to fight the dragons that are hard. But some of us like a challenge. So I was talking to my husband and this idea came up. If we could code a harder dragon in another town, maybe the ghost town, and make him harder then the other dragon in the game, the players would have a choice to either take the hard dragon or the easy dragon. That way there if they get bored of easy, there is the harder dragon they can try to beat.
Logged
Ironman
Guest
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2005, 10:48:17 AM »

I think this is already done in the Random Dragon Module by Arune

http://dragonprime.net/index.php?board=17;action=display;threadid=1547
This looks like a really cool mod, but it doesn't really do what I have in mind.  Thanks for the link, though!
Logged
Ironman
Guest
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2005, 10:50:28 AM »

I know at our site we have it set to easy, that is cause most of the people there dont like to fight the dragons that are hard. But some of us like a challenge. So I was talking to my husband and this idea came up. If we could code a harder dragon in another town, maybe the ghost town, and make him harder then the other dragon in the game, the players would have a choice to either take the hard dragon or the easy dragon. That way there if they get bored of easy, there is the harder dragon they can try to beat.

And I guess the mod I'm developing (in my mind at least) would allow for an easier dragon, as well, since the Dragon's stats would be configurable.
Logged
scooter2
Guest
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2005, 10:53:30 AM »

well, that would be good if we can have two dragons in one game. You see if we take away the easy dragon and put in a harder dragon we might lose people. And since we dont have a whole lot of people there anyways we cant afford to lose anyone. So what we were looking for is to add another dragon to only one town. Would we be able to do this with your Module?
Logged
Ironman
Guest
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2005, 10:54:29 AM »

There is no need to replace the dragon.php ...

With any module you could change the strength of a dragon with your own calculation.

If you have any questions how to do this, please feel free to ask Smiley (Either here, so every one might benefit from the knowledge transfer or by PM if you feel, this would be better. Smiley )
Ok, I'll ask here. Smiley  I'd definitely prefer to _not_ replace any of the core files if at all possible.
Logged
Ironman
Guest
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2005, 10:59:35 AM »

well, that would be good if we can have two dragons in one game. You see if we take away the easy dragon and put in a harder dragon we might lose people. And since we dont have a whole lot of people there anyways we cant afford to lose anyone. So what we were looking for is to add another dragon to only one town. Would we be able to do this with your Module?

I hadn't thought of that; but I haven't worked out how the first one will work exactly yet, either. Smiley  So yeah, it has possibilities.
Logged
scooter2
Guest
« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2005, 11:02:20 AM »

Another thing that might have to be addressed is we have the roaming dragon and he will appear in the different villages at different times, so the hard dragon will have to appear on only one town, and the easy dragon will not be allowed to appear where the hard dragon is : Grin
Logged
Talisman
Administrator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5477



View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: November 20, 2005, 11:06:05 AM »

Ok, I'll ask here. Smiley  I'd definitely prefer to _not_ replace any of the core files if at all possible.


Have you looked at the Dragon Buffercizer yet?  It buffs up the dragon for more difficult fights.
Logged

Play the latest beta version here on DragonPrime
scooter2
Guest
« Reply #12 on: November 20, 2005, 11:13:48 AM »

yes Talisman we have that installed, but if we make it as hard as I want the dragon to be we will lose players. and we dont want to lose members, I would rather, (if at all possible) have two dragons. One easy and one hard that way they have a choice. I am tired of fighting the easy dragon. and would like a more challenging dragon to fight.
Logged
Talisman
Administrator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5477



View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: November 20, 2005, 11:33:48 AM »

I was pointing Ironman to that, as the code should show him how to do what he's after doing.

I realize the buffercizer won't do what you're after, scooter.  Personally, I'm not sure that having multiple strength dragons is a good idea - you'll have two players with equal dragonkills, but one would be DK-Light, with the other would have 'earned' their title.  Are you sure that won't cause contention and cries of 'foul' amongst your players?
Logged

Play the latest beta version here on DragonPrime
scooter2
Guest
« Reply #14 on: November 20, 2005, 12:10:30 PM »

I can see what you are saying Talisman, but this would be player choice at each dragon kill. If they choose to fight the harder dragon and lose well that is their choice, on the next dragon kill they can choose the easier dragon if they choose to. But if anyone start to complain it is simple take the easier one if you want to advance.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


*
DragonPrime Notices
Play LoGD on Dragonprime

Support Us
No funds raised yet this year
Your help is greatly appreciated!
Recent Topics
DragonPrime LoGD
Who's Online
30 Guests, 0 Users
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search