DragonPrime - LoGD Resource Community
Welcome Guest
  • Good morning, Guest.
    Please log in, or register.
  • January 19, 2018, 07:23:46 AM
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search
* * *
DragonPrime Menu
Login
 
 
Resource Pages
Search

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Mouse over...  (Read 6624 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
TeMpTeD
Guest
« on: May 05, 2005, 05:30:26 PM »

Mouse Over:

  • Can be used to show numerous things without having to clutter up a page.
  • I only modified pageparts.php for the weapon and armor, when you mouse over your weapon and armor it displays the weapon/armor atk/def and the value of it.
Just download the pageparts.zip and example.zip files in my user directory and add these at the top of all the templates in the .htm files:
Code:
<style>
@import url(http://sephirothslogd.com/scripts/example.css);
</style>
<script type='text/javascript' language='javascript' src='http://sephirothslogd.com/scripts/domLib.js'></script>
    <script type='text/javascript' language='javascript' src='http://sephirothslogd.com/scripts/domTT.js'></script>
    <script type='text/javascript' language='javascript'>
var domTT_classPrefix = 'domTTOverlib';
    </script>
Make sure you add this at the top in the header of the .htm files in all your templates..

P.S. My friend is hosting the .js files so you don't have to change that path...

If anyone uses this please tell me how it goes and what else you used it for..

EDIT: To use this for something else you must put:

<a href=\"#\" onmouseover=\"return makeTrue(domTT_activate(this, event, 'statusText', 'Title', 'caption', 'Title', 'content', 'Attack: ".$u[weapondmg]." | Value: ".$u[weaponvalue]."', 'trail', true));\">".$u[weapon]."</a>
Change the things in red..here is a picture of what it will look like:


« Last Edit: May 05, 2005, 05:49:03 PM by TeMpTeD » Logged
Talisman
Administrator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5477



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2005, 05:44:50 PM »

Now what happens if your friend's server goes down, or suffers a DDOS attack, etc? We've already seen how a slowdown on lotgd.net's servers can drastically affect servers registered on lotgd.net.

I know anything I install in my own game must be self contained, or I won't use it...
Logged

Play the latest beta version here on DragonPrime
TeMpTeD
Guest
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2005, 05:48:28 PM »

Alrite, well you can download it from there by just copying that link and pasting it in the address bar since browsers dont support .js files..or at least looking at them...
Logged
Talisman
Administrator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5477



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2005, 05:55:57 PM »

Why don't you just include it in your .zip file, then if/when his site changes/goes down, your mod will still be usable?
Logged

Play the latest beta version here on DragonPrime
TeMpTeD
Guest
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2005, 05:56:51 PM »

I'm a newb at zipping things, and I don't know how to zip things in the same zip file  Wink
Logged
Sichae
iMod God
SVN Users
Mod God
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3458


If ya didn't get it by now... you're hopeless...


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2005, 06:00:22 PM »

I'm a newb at zipping things, and I don't know how to zip things in the same zip file  Wink

Drag and drop.
Logged

If you didn't understand anything in the above post, don't try to attempt anything suggested.

Talisman
Administrator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5477



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2005, 07:06:26 PM »

By the way...

When you make modifications to a core file, it is poor practice to post the entire file.  You will overwrite previous modifications, if any, and your mod will break with each game update.

If you insist on releasing patches (they're not modules) to the core code, it should consist solely of patching instructions.  IE, how to change the existing file.

Additionally, when you modify a file, you should include documentation indicating that the file HAS been modified, and document the specific changes within it.

As it stands now, your current release misses the boat on the above accounts, plus it's reliance on code hosted by a third parth server.
Logged

Play the latest beta version here on DragonPrime
CortalUX
Dwellings Project
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 796


Wogga! Meep!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2005, 04:33:07 AM »

Also, there is a mouseover script that 'potionshop' uses: each module can have its own as and when it needs it.

Your code can also be done in a module, with no need for ANY patching.
Logged
CortalUX
Dwellings Project
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 796


Wogga! Meep!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: May 06, 2005, 05:18:34 AM »

I have converted this to a module; which can be found here.
Link: http://dragonprime.net/users/CortalUX/mouseover.zip
Logged
TeMpTeD
Guest
« Reply #9 on: May 06, 2005, 12:51:15 PM »

Thanks for putting that into a module CortalUX...do you have it running on your server?

Additionally, when you modify a file, you should include documentation indicating that the file HAS been modified, and document the specific changes within it.
If you look, I actually did state what I modified in that file..
Logged
TeMpTeD
Guest
« Reply #10 on: May 06, 2005, 12:57:37 PM »

Looks good, I only found one thing wrong..and that is
Code:
$t=translate_inline("Armor Details");
should be:
Code:
$t=translate_inline("Weapon Details");
That is around line 58..
Logged
Talisman
Administrator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5477



View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: May 06, 2005, 01:05:51 PM »

Thanks for putting that into a module CortalUX...do you have it running on your server? If you look, I actually did state what I modified in that file..


But there was nothing at the top of the file to indicate that it HAD been modified, or why, or by whom.  Notwithstanding the other issues as mentioned.
Logged

Play the latest beta version here on DragonPrime
TeMpTeD
Guest
« Reply #12 on: May 06, 2005, 01:12:07 PM »

Alright, well I'm sorry..but I haven't really made many mods before...no hard feelings Talisman?

If anyone has used this mod..please PM me or post in this thread what you think of it..
-Thanks
_Regards-TeMpTeD_
Logged
CortalUX
Dwellings Project
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 796


Wogga! Meep!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: May 06, 2005, 01:22:13 PM »

Ya, I've got it running on my server now.
Uploaded and fixed the translate_inline().
Logged
TeMpTeD
Guest
« Reply #14 on: May 06, 2005, 01:26:42 PM »

It says your 1.02 sever is disabled.. Wink
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


*
DragonPrime Notices
Please take the time to read the FAQ and browse the DragonPedia

Support Us
No funds raised yet this year
Your help is greatly appreciated!
Recent Topics
DragonPrime LoGD
Who's Online
27 Guests, 0 Users
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search