DragonPrime - LoGD Resource Community
Welcome Guest
  • Good morning, Guest.
    Please log in, or register.
  • January 23, 2018, 03:55:46 AM
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search
* * *
DragonPrime Menu
Login
 
 
Resource Pages
Search

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Variable Creatures  (Read 7908 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
lonnyl
Guest
« on: April 09, 2005, 03:39:57 PM »

Ok... Thinking again (Talisman... Stay away from the fire extinguisher!  Tongue)

It may be nice to give creatures a little variance....
would take one more field to the creatures table....
The editor setting could be a simple drop down that stated normal, weak, very weak, hard, and very hard.  This could give same level creatures a little variance....

And I could make my SpongeBob Squarepants kick my players buts! (Sorry for that, I got carried away  Shocked)
Logged
des black
Guest
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2005, 03:48:02 PM »

I thought they already do vary on what type of creature you fight. You are more likely to fight a create that is your lvl than one higher or lower.
Logged
lonnyl
Guest
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2005, 07:24:01 PM »

I'm talking being able to make a weaker or tougher level 5 creature so to speak.... (or any level)....

*Wonders if he is getting his point across*
Logged
Talisman
Administrator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5477



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2005, 10:47:45 PM »

Isn't that already pretty much accomplished by providing a random range of creatures?  For example, when you 'Look' for a fight, you can encounter creatures +/- or equal to your level.
Logged

Play the latest beta version here on DragonPrime
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2005, 10:59:17 PM »

And by using the creature editor you could create level 5 critters with level 6 stats...
Logged

Running for more than three years now:
lonnyl
Guest
« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2005, 05:51:37 AM »

Isn't that already pretty much accomplished by providing a random range of creatures?  For example, when you 'Look' for a fight, you can encounter creatures +/- or equal to your level.

Yes..... in a way it is....
I am only looking for a slight variance in the creatures that the admin has some control over..... This way not all level 6 (and all other levels) creatures will be entirely equal..... sort of like all level 6 players are not entirely equal....

For instance... I want my Jackalope to be pretty tough at level 6, and my insane squirrel to be weaker at level 6... A small admin settable variance would accomplish that....

Now I would leave all of the random variances in as they are... and simply add the computations for the small strengthen and weaken settings.  Now I would code this as it would not be very hard.  However I believe it would be an excellent addition to the core and I am sure Kendaer would have some specific ideas on how this should be accomplished.  
Logged
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2005, 06:49:42 AM »

Well... And that could also be done by a module... Use the hook "buffbadguy"... And then do some $args['creatureattack']+=e_rand(-$range, $range); and the same for defense and health, make range an admin definable thing and so on... and everything will work wwithout altring a table... So you'd even achieve to have *all* creatures' strengths fluctuating...
Logged

Running for more than three years now:
Freeze
Guest
« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2005, 07:23:12 AM »

If its anyconsolation Lonnyl, I understand what you are saying, and I thinnk its a good idea.

* Nefarious eyes the fire extinguisher..
Logged
Dannic
Guest
« Reply #8 on: April 10, 2005, 07:31:25 AM »

why not just make a module which gives random buffs to the creatures.
Logged
lonnyl
Guest
« Reply #9 on: April 10, 2005, 08:44:43 AM »

Because I don't want it random....

I want something like Jackalope at level 6 to consitanly be a tougher creature than say Insane Squirrel......

That way when players encounter Jackalope, from experience they know it's generally going to be a bit tougher fight.....

And I could simple make a module that would let you do this..... And may make one if Kendaer does not deem this a worthy feature of the core.
Logged
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: April 10, 2005, 08:55:36 AM »

Okay... you want a level 6 creature, that's tougher than the average level 6 creature? (I use a custom set of creatures... Don't use names Wink )

Now, if you go to the creatures editor, simply make it stronger! You don't need a new feature - it's already there...
Logged

Running for more than three years now:
lonnyl
Guest
« Reply #11 on: April 10, 2005, 09:02:47 AM »

I'm sorry... I guess I am missing something..... I can't find a setting to make the creature tougher or weaker......

Or are you talking about a module that is already created?HuhHuh
Logged
Dannic
Guest
« Reply #12 on: April 10, 2005, 09:15:14 AM »

you could also add a objpref for creatures similiar to how i did the creature alignment.  Then its just a matter of editing specific creatures and adding the modifications you want to those creatures.
Logged
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: April 10, 2005, 09:42:46 AM »

I'm sorry... I guess I am missing something..... I can't find a setting to make the creature tougher or weaker......

Or are you talking about a module that is already created?HuhHuh

Oh... ehm... yes... no... Was talking about phpmyadmin...

I always created creatures using this... and I thought the creature editor would do the same...

There are field for creatureattack, creaturedefense and creaturehealth, which you could simply edit in the database...

Sorry, I thought the creature editor itself was capable of doing this, too...
Logged

Running for more than three years now:
lonnyl
Guest
« Reply #14 on: April 10, 2005, 09:58:28 AM »

So.... it propably wouldn't be too hard to hook the editor with a module and edit these values.....  Grin
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


*
DragonPrime Notices
Please take the time to read the FAQ and browse the DragonPedia

Support Us
No funds raised yet this year
Your help is greatly appreciated!
Recent Topics
DragonPrime LoGD
Who's Online
27 Guests, 0 Users
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search