DragonPrime - LoGD Resource Community
Welcome Guest
  • Good afternoon, Guest.
    Please log in, or register.
  • April 24, 2018, 02:06:16 PM
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search
* * *
DragonPrime Menu
Login
 
 
Resource Pages
Search

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Variable Creatures  (Read 8218 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
lonnyl
Guest
« on: April 09, 2005, 03:39:57 PM »

Ok... Thinking again (Talisman... Stay away from the fire extinguisher!  Tongue)

It may be nice to give creatures a little variance....
would take one more field to the creatures table....
The editor setting could be a simple drop down that stated normal, weak, very weak, hard, and very hard.  This could give same level creatures a little variance....

And I could make my SpongeBob Squarepants kick my players buts! (Sorry for that, I got carried away  Shocked)
Logged
des black
Guest
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2005, 03:48:02 PM »

I thought they already do vary on what type of creature you fight. You are more likely to fight a create that is your lvl than one higher or lower.
Logged
lonnyl
Guest
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2005, 07:24:01 PM »

I'm talking being able to make a weaker or tougher level 5 creature so to speak.... (or any level)....

*Wonders if he is getting his point across*
Logged
Talisman
Administrator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5479



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2005, 10:47:45 PM »

Isn't that already pretty much accomplished by providing a random range of creatures?  For example, when you 'Look' for a fight, you can encounter creatures +/- or equal to your level.
Logged

Play the latest beta version here on DragonPrime
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2005, 10:59:17 PM »

And by using the creature editor you could create level 5 critters with level 6 stats...
Logged

Running for more than three years now:
lonnyl
Guest
« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2005, 05:51:37 AM »

Isn't that already pretty much accomplished by providing a random range of creatures?  For example, when you 'Look' for a fight, you can encounter creatures +/- or equal to your level.

Yes..... in a way it is....
I am only looking for a slight variance in the creatures that the admin has some control over..... This way not all level 6 (and all other levels) creatures will be entirely equal..... sort of like all level 6 players are not entirely equal....

For instance... I want my Jackalope to be pretty tough at level 6, and my insane squirrel to be weaker at level 6... A small admin settable variance would accomplish that....

Now I would leave all of the random variances in as they are... and simply add the computations for the small strengthen and weaken settings.  Now I would code this as it would not be very hard.  However I believe it would be an excellent addition to the core and I am sure Kendaer would have some specific ideas on how this should be accomplished.  
Logged
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2005, 06:49:42 AM »

Well... And that could also be done by a module... Use the hook "buffbadguy"... And then do some $args['creatureattack']+=e_rand(-$range, $range); and the same for defense and health, make range an admin definable thing and so on... and everything will work wwithout altring a table... So you'd even achieve to have *all* creatures' strengths fluctuating...
Logged

Running for more than three years now:
Freeze
Guest
« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2005, 07:23:12 AM »

If its anyconsolation Lonnyl, I understand what you are saying, and I thinnk its a good idea.

* Nefarious eyes the fire extinguisher..
Logged
Dannic
Guest
« Reply #8 on: April 10, 2005, 07:31:25 AM »

why not just make a module which gives random buffs to the creatures.
Logged
lonnyl
Guest
« Reply #9 on: April 10, 2005, 08:44:43 AM »

Because I don't want it random....

I want something like Jackalope at level 6 to consitanly be a tougher creature than say Insane Squirrel......

That way when players encounter Jackalope, from experience they know it's generally going to be a bit tougher fight.....

And I could simple make a module that would let you do this..... And may make one if Kendaer does not deem this a worthy feature of the core.
Logged
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: April 10, 2005, 08:55:36 AM »

Okay... you want a level 6 creature, that's tougher than the average level 6 creature? (I use a custom set of creatures... Don't use names Wink )

Now, if you go to the creatures editor, simply make it stronger! You don't need a new feature - it's already there...
Logged

Running for more than three years now:
lonnyl
Guest
« Reply #11 on: April 10, 2005, 09:02:47 AM »

I'm sorry... I guess I am missing something..... I can't find a setting to make the creature tougher or weaker......

Or are you talking about a module that is already created?HuhHuh
Logged
Dannic
Guest
« Reply #12 on: April 10, 2005, 09:15:14 AM »

you could also add a objpref for creatures similiar to how i did the creature alignment.  Then its just a matter of editing specific creatures and adding the modifications you want to those creatures.
Logged
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: April 10, 2005, 09:42:46 AM »

I'm sorry... I guess I am missing something..... I can't find a setting to make the creature tougher or weaker......

Or are you talking about a module that is already created?HuhHuh

Oh... ehm... yes... no... Was talking about phpmyadmin...

I always created creatures using this... and I thought the creature editor would do the same...

There are field for creatureattack, creaturedefense and creaturehealth, which you could simply edit in the database...

Sorry, I thought the creature editor itself was capable of doing this, too...
Logged

Running for more than three years now:
lonnyl
Guest
« Reply #14 on: April 10, 2005, 09:58:28 AM »

So.... it propably wouldn't be too hard to hook the editor with a module and edit these values.....  Grin
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


*
DragonPrime Notices
Play LoGD on Dragonprime

Support Us
No funds raised yet this year
Your help is greatly appreciated!
Recent Topics
DragonPrime LoGD
Who's Online
36 Guests, 1 User
pharis
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search