DragonPrime - LoGD Resource Community
Welcome Guest
  • Good afternoon, Guest.
    Please log in, or register.
  • February 20, 2019, 01:16:01 PM
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search
* * *
DragonPrime Menu
Login
 
 
Resource Pages
Search

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Permissions  (Read 3998 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
ChAoS
Guest
« on: April 02, 2005, 06:08:50 PM »

I am having trouble with an install. Is there a list of necessary persmissions somewhere?
Logged
Talisman
Administrator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5483



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2005, 06:30:38 PM »

Should run with folders at 755 and files 644
Logged

Play the latest beta version here on DragonPrime
ChAoS
Guest
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2005, 06:46:37 PM »

Ok those permission wouldnt work for me on that server. I changed to 777 and it wrote the connect_db.php but it will not display any of the following steps.


http://efs.duiplayground.com/games/lotgd/lotgd-1.0.0/installer.php?stage=7
 
It says page not found
« Last Edit: April 02, 2005, 06:48:21 PM by ChAoS » Logged
XChrisX
Global Moderator
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4647

Be aware of the squirrel!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2005, 12:00:13 AM »

okay... the file is named: dbconnect.php not connect_db.php ...

Maybe that's it Wink
Logged

Running for more than three years now:
ChAoS
Guest
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2005, 03:07:42 AM »

syntax error was only in this thread and not the actual server Smiley
« Last Edit: April 03, 2005, 03:08:23 AM by ChAoS » Logged
ChAoS
Guest
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2005, 04:53:39 PM »

Ok I am still trying to get this to install. The install program will only create dbconnect.php if I set the folder permissions to 777. That is the last step I am able to perform. When trying to perform a clean install nothing happens. Until this point I have checked every folder (755) and every file (644) Any clues?

It  just says page cannot be displayed for this
http://www.emeraldforestseattle.net/forums/games/lotgd/lotgd-1.0.0/installer.php?stage=7
« Last Edit: April 03, 2005, 05:59:23 PM by ChAoS » Logged
ChAoS
Guest
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2005, 11:00:31 PM »

Ok just to give everyone an update (if it matters)
I did get this working finally

It did install fine on my Gentoo host but would not work with its particular version of Glibc due to that nasty bug
I could not get it to install or create tables on my Fedora blessed host. This I am sure is due to some wacky permission/group  issue somewhere.

Soo... after configuring it on my Gentoo server I copied the entire install over to the Fedora host (altering the dbconnect.php accordingly)
Did an SQL dump of Gentoo and imported to Fedora (are ya taking notes yet?)

Shazam!!! It works and there is Peace in the Forest (amidst the clang of weaponry) :p
« Last Edit: April 03, 2005, 11:01:55 PM by ChAoS » Logged
Sneakabout
Member
Captain of the Guard
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 137


Fear the Sneak!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2005, 01:15:16 PM »

OK...... I'm having a darn near identical problem to this guy with my local dev server efforts.

I have no idea what bug he is talking about in Glibc, but as I'm running debian that might be the same thing. I don't have another box to move to so I can't do what he did. Any advice?

EDIT: I've found another thread with this problem at http://lotgd.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=10965#10965 - I'm still puzzled, but there's more info there.
« Last Edit: April 04, 2005, 02:58:59 PM by Sneakabout » Logged

Admin on Central. Founder of the BAD Clan.
ChAoS
Guest
« Reply #8 on: April 04, 2005, 09:04:27 PM »

Here is the thread that dealt with the Glibc bug on my Gentoo flavored host.

http://dragonprime.net/index.php?board=16;action=display;threadid=1934

But that wasnt my problem with my server located at MyBox (Fedora). I think it was a group permission related issue but I haven't investigated further.  Maybe try creating the SQL tables manually (I still don't know the game system well enough to tell you these steps yet) Like I said it installed correctly on my Gentoo server but the Glibc bug prevented the Game Clock from functioning at all,other than that the game worked so I basically copied the install over to the other server and manually added the tables with phpMyAdmin.
« Last Edit: April 04, 2005, 09:10:57 PM by ChAoS » Logged
Sneakabout
Member
Captain of the Guard
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 137


Fear the Sneak!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: April 05, 2005, 05:11:13 AM »

I don't know if we had the same bug, but I solved mine by just increasing the two buffer values in the mysql configuration file - I now have a handy local dev server.
Logged

Admin on Central. Founder of the BAD Clan.
ChAoS
Guest
« Reply #10 on: April 05, 2005, 03:49:02 PM »

what did you set them to?
Logged
Sneakabout
Member
Captain of the Guard
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 137


Fear the Sneak!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: April 05, 2005, 03:59:40 PM »

I just doubled them, it seemed to work. Perhaps you'd have to set it to higher if you had more modules

*shrugs* 'Tis working anyways.
Logged

Admin on Central. Founder of the BAD Clan.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


*
DragonPrime Notices
Please take the time to read the FAQ and browse the DragonPedia

Support Us
No funds raised yet this year
Your help is greatly appreciated!
Recent Topics
DragonPrime LoGD
Who's Online
27 Guests, 1 User
aeanos
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search