DragonPrime - LoGD Resource Community
Welcome Guest
  • Good morning, Guest.
    Please log in, or register.
  • September 29, 2016, 06:29:33 AM
Home Forums News Links Downloads Login Register Advanced Search
* * *
DragonPrime Menu
Login
 
 
Resource Pages
IRC Channels
Search

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Clan Training  (Read 4849 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Lightbringer
Member
Codemeister
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 267


Life's a lich and then you don't die...damn unlife


View Profile
« on: February 19, 2005, 04:25:05 AM »

This is a training module for the clan system - allows training of turns to produce experience...

This was converted to a module by Kody Sumter from a hack I did...

Lemme know how it goes and let me know how it can be improved

as a side note - it works well on my site - and the only player complaint is the high cost - tho that is crucial for game balance
Smiley

EDIT

Might help to supply the link :S

http://dragonprime.net/users/Lightbringer/clantrain05.zip

Gotta remember to do that lol
« Last Edit: February 19, 2005, 09:18:11 AM by Lightbringer » Logged

________________________ _____________________

Lightbringer
PHP/SQL/VB.NET/C#/AJAX Developer
sntjohnny
Guest
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2005, 10:17:31 PM »

Hey, I installed this but can't figure out where the training occurs.  Its not in the clan hall or in the forest.  At least not that I see.  I checked in Tynan's gym as one obvious place to look.

Help?
Logged
Arune
Member
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 718


Arune Vai - khatfield


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2005, 11:13:48 PM »

Lightbringer:
 Currently there aren't any nav links set for this so you would need to do something similar to:

Code:
function clantrain_install() {
        module_addhook("footer-clan");
        return true;
}

function clantrain_uninstall() {
   return true;
}

function clantrain_dohook() {
case "footer-clan":
addnav("Clan Training", "runmodule.php?module=clantrain");
break;
   }
   return $args;
}
Logged
Lightbringer
Member
Codemeister
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 267


Life's a lich and then you don't die...damn unlife


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2005, 01:53:50 AM »

Okay, Arune ... I will update the link as soon as possible...

It works fine on my server and appears in the clan halls...but I will add the aforementioned code and see if it helps...
Logged

________________________ _____________________

Lightbringer
PHP/SQL/VB.NET/C#/AJAX Developer
Sichae
iMod God
SVN Users
Mod God
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3458


If ya didn't get it by now... you're hopeless...


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2005, 02:34:05 AM »

The nav on your server also appears for those that aren't even in a clan. ^_^

Look at the Clan Vault or Clan Bulletin for the proper way to clean this little problem up.
Logged

If you didn't understand anything in the above post, don't try to attempt anything suggested.

Lightbringer
Member
Codemeister
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 267


Life's a lich and then you don't die...damn unlife


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2005, 02:42:50 AM »

Oops!  Roll Eyes

That was not supposed to happen lol

Thanks for picking that up
Logged

________________________ _____________________

Lightbringer
PHP/SQL/VB.NET/C#/AJAX Developer
Lightbringer
Member
Codemeister
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 267


Life's a lich and then you don't die...damn unlife


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2005, 03:21:06 AM »

Thanks to the more than generous assistance by Sichae, Clan Training should now be fine..have tested it on the test servers for pre.13 and pre.14 and now it is running strong on my live server..

Thanks Sichae ... greatly appreciated

  Cheesy
Logged

________________________ _____________________

Lightbringer
PHP/SQL/VB.NET/C#/AJAX Developer
Sichae
iMod God
SVN Users
Mod God
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3458


If ya didn't get it by now... you're hopeless...


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: February 20, 2005, 03:22:55 AM »

Thanks Sichae ... greatly appreciated
You are welcome. Anytime you need help, just drop me a line.
Logged

If you didn't understand anything in the above post, don't try to attempt anything suggested.

Damien
Guest
« Reply #8 on: February 20, 2005, 04:31:28 AM »

If you want nav links to appear under "Clan Options" you should do

Code:
addnav("Clan Options");
addnav("Clan Training", "yourfile.php");

... well I noticed this just a few days ago... hurray for me  Grin

Nice to have more modules for clans Smiley

- Damien
Logged
Lightbringer
Member
Codemeister
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 267


Life's a lich and then you don't die...damn unlife


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: February 20, 2005, 04:34:41 AM »

Yeah...it is quite a handy feature and I will be concentrating pretty much on clans for a little while
Logged

________________________ _____________________

Lightbringer
PHP/SQL/VB.NET/C#/AJAX Developer
Sichae
iMod God
SVN Users
Mod God
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3458


If ya didn't get it by now... you're hopeless...


View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: February 20, 2005, 04:39:50 AM »

The only reason why I put in:
Code:
addnav("~");
Is because almost every other Clan Module uses that. But, placement of the nav isn't as important, as the mod itself Tongue
Logged

If you didn't understand anything in the above post, don't try to attempt anything suggested.

Lightbringer
Member
Codemeister
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 267


Life's a lich and then you don't die...damn unlife


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: February 20, 2005, 04:48:25 AM »

By the way, Sichae...

It is also a heap better balanced now - that is always my primary concern...Easy servers generally peak at around 90-120 dk's and get boring and redundant
Logged

________________________ _____________________

Lightbringer
PHP/SQL/VB.NET/C#/AJAX Developer
SexyCook
Codemeister
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 430



View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: June 16, 2006, 09:55:48 AM »

My players started complaining that this module is redundant as in the worst case they would get low exp-yield and lose money, in the best case they would get around the same amount of exp as in a forest fight and lose money.

Because I wanted to translate ready the "new day in" sentence anyway (I'm sure I did an awful job of it, but it works), I added some admin variables to the lowest and highest value of the e_rand in the $exp calculation. As for the standard values I naturaly kept the old ones. (File below).

Lightbringer, would a "simple, medium, hard" training, which would cost 1 x expexchange, 10 x expexchange and 100 x expexchange respectely and increase $exp by a multiplator I'd have to figure out disrupt the balance of the game too much, in your experience? I've got some races fighting as fast and costly as they can to the next DK, while others seem only fill their bank accounts, while their exp-bars stay pretty empty. So I was thinking about further modifying your module to add at least one harder training setting (perhaps even costing hps, allowing player-death through exaustion).
Logged
ShadowRaven
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 806


Silence is a virtue...


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: June 16, 2006, 10:53:33 AM »

Quote
My players started complaining that this module is redundant as in the worst case they would get low exp-yield and lose money, in the best case they would get around the same amount of exp as in a forest fight and lose money.

I don't believe that this is supposed to 'replace' forest fighting, in the sense that they are supposed to get what they would get if they fought in the forest. Players are incouraged to fight in the forest, so (in my opinion) they shouldn't get what they would in the forest. It is a quick way to get rid of turns if you 'don't want' to forest fight. Thats also why it costs gold to train(which I believe is admin settable for the cost), its the price you pay for taking the quick way Tongue Wink
Logged

Elessa
Faerie
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3599


short, sweet and to the point


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: June 16, 2006, 12:04:33 PM »

Quote
My players started complaining that this module is redundant as in the worst case they would get low exp-yield and lose money, in the best case they would get around the same amount of exp as in a forest fight and lose money.


I don't believe that this is supposed to 'replace' forest fighting, in the sense that they are supposed to get what they would get if they fought in the forest. Players are incouraged to fight in the forest, so (in my opinion) they shouldn't get what they would in the forest. It is a quick way to get rid of turns if you 'don't want' to forest fight. Thats also why it costs gold to train(which I believe is admin settable for the cost), its the price you pay for taking the quick way Tongue Wink

not to mention, there is no risk iof death involved with this module.   why should they receive the same level of exp for something that doesn't require them to potentially lose that which is gained?
Logged

Uuma ma ten rashwe, ta tuluva a lle

Play the latest beta version here on LoGD DragonPrime - Axebridge
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


*
DragonPrime Notices
Play LoGD on Dragonprime

Support Us
No funds raised yet this year
Your help is greatly appreciated!
Who's Online
57 Guests, 0 Users
DragonPrime LoGD
Recent Topics
Home Forums News Links Downloads Login Register Advanced Search