DragonPrime - LoGD Resource Community
Welcome Guest
  • Good morning, Guest.
    Please log in, or register.
  • July 17, 2019, 03:52:22 AM
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search
* * *
DragonPrime Menu
Login
 
 
Resource Pages
Search

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 22   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: World Map - Revised  (Read 96061 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Arune
Member
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 718


Arune Vai - khatfield


View Profile WWW
« on: February 13, 2005, 10:05:09 PM »

Big thank you to Kendaer for his large contribution to this project as well as AES for making it possible.

----------------------------------------------------------------
Version 0.6L Available:
--0.6H--
- Manual location placement added.
- Cleaned up / Optimized
- Corrected NAV Costs
- Fixed an issue that may cause you to move outside the given map area.

--0.6I--
- Couple of major travel fixes.
- Major lag problem is now Corrected.
- Buying a map now works as it should.

--0.6J--
- Grammatical fixes.
- Another possible travel issue corrected.
- Removed some unneeded hits to the database..
- Admin configurable ability to turn on/off showing the compass.

--0.6K--
- Added the ability to move cities outside of the map, so cities can be made inaccessible. (Such as Isle of Wen, Superusers can still access these areas)
- Added fix for the broken map found by Lurch.
- Corrected the look of the map, it no longer looks like it is showing extra blocks.
- Corrected 2 situations where users location gets b0rked.
- Admin configurable ability to show map key on/off.
*Warning: showing the map key will currently show *all* cities.
- Now works with the module updater.

--0.6L--
- Added direct superuser travel with toggling manual movement.
- Corrected the city list.
- Added the key to the worldmap editor.
- Added Map Edge Block so that users are not confused. (Requested by sixf00t4)
- Corrected an issue about showing the map as it should.
- Fixed an issue where the map was getting out of line.

--0.7--
- ADDED: Snow Terrain
- Corrected one issue with the map going funky.
- Fixed an issue where it was exploitable to attack another player over and over.
- Corrected manual placements.
- Corrected City Placements with spaces.
- Made two changes in the map editor javascript that would cause the map to become unreadable.

--0.7b--
- ADDED: Snow Terrain
- ADDED: Snow / Map Key
- FIXED: PVP Defeat/Victory Has been corrected.
- FIXED: City Placement with spaces.
- FIXED: Terrain placement / saving.
- FIXED: 2 different scenarios where the news would come out messy.

--0.8--
- Added: Travel Specials
- Added: Travel special chance setting / preferences

--0.8A--
- Added: Forest Specials
- Added: Random Chance for Forest/Travel Special
- Added: BlockNav for Forest
- Added: Admin Configurable Chances
- Added: Worldmapnav Hook

--0.8b--
- Added: Admin configurable forest nav.
- Added: Forest Nav (When on a city)
----------------------------------------------------------------

Version 0.8b is considered stable and performing very well!

\- Current 0.8b -/
http://dragonprime.net/index.php?module=Downloads;sa=dlview;id=665

Arune
« Last Edit: April 22, 2007, 05:06:37 PM by Elessa » Logged
enderwiggin
Guest
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2005, 10:16:28 PM »

You are a good man, Charlie Brown.
Logged
Berzerk
Guest
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2005, 01:44:42 AM »

Awesome, You have my full support on this project. I remember seeing it way back on page 5, long forgoten and lost in the past, good thing I opened my big mouth and got people to remember and continue to work on it. Cheesy

Good luck Arune, to you I salute. Hope you get this monster built and working fully.
Logged
CortalUX
Dwellings Project
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 796


Wogga! Meep!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2005, 07:56:16 AM »

Great!
Could you allow ' in town names?
Logged
Berzerk
Guest
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2005, 11:32:04 AM »

Hey when you get the time to do it, make sure you add the ability to place the cities and other special areas manualy, I didn't like the random placement at all. Right now your busy with other things but don't forget this one is all.

Also what about adding a feature to towns that allows players to go to other towns instantly like a magic teleporter that costs a bunch of gems to use, Cause I know many players would hate to have to walk so far and would rather pay a steep price to get there fast. Just an idea, ignore it if you wish.

I'm going to be following this mod very closely, I'll even be testing the versions you give out.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2005, 11:33:52 AM by Berzerk » Logged
enderwiggin
Guest
« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2005, 03:43:34 PM »

I haven't looked at the code for this, nor at Lonny's maze editor, so this may be impossible.

However, you might be able to utilize something similiar to Lonny's maze editor to allow admins to manually edit the world map.

That would be fab!
Logged
enderwiggin
Guest
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2005, 10:48:33 PM »

Speed is more important to me than terrains, so I'll hold up for 1.5, which I am planning on installing soon.
Logged
Berzerk
Guest
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2005, 03:19:47 AM »

Agreed, I'll gladly take random placement over that slow 1.6.

Wouldn't it be possible to pull some of the coding form the 1.6 to the 1.5 for the manual placement?, I'm no expert with PHP so I really wouldn't know, but from my viewpoint I don't see why that wouldn't be very hard to do with some alterations. But your building it as you go and to complain about something not being in it now is stupid cause the thing is still in the shop being built. lol

Take your time, don't rush it, if you do you'll only make goofs and have more work later having to find and fix all the problems in it, I'd rather wait for a strong, reliable mod than to have a half built barely working thing done over night. However I'm gonna be testing out this beast for ya so I'll be both waiting for the real deal and grabbing whats currently there.
Logged
Berzerk
Guest
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2005, 12:50:03 PM »

Great, I'll have me and my small group of beta testers give .5 a whirl.

And Really the terrian to me was neat but not exactly nessary, I'd like to make some areas impassible for like oceans or what ever but terrains really aen't needed, nice but not that important.

Though a small neat thing to do though probably would take quite some work to do would be able to cut the map into sections, so like one area has weak creatures that all the farmboy/girls are at and can adventure in, and in another area where we're able to place super powerful creatures only cherubs up to undergods can beat. You know the ability to place regions and whatnot, gives more of a real world instead of just one type of terrain all round. But thats a crazy idea so you'll probably just want ot skip that lol.
Logged
ehud
Guest
« Reply #9 on: February 16, 2005, 06:39:12 AM »

pretty cool, good job!

was the world map supposed to do away with the slumming-thrillseeking aspect too though?
Logged
Arune
Member
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 718


Arune Vai - khatfield


View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: February 16, 2005, 06:51:31 AM »

Yes.

This is travel -- random travel. So therefore you do not get to pick your fights.
Logged
Berzerk
Guest
« Reply #11 on: February 16, 2005, 07:23:49 AM »

Ok haven't been home for a day so I didn't get to test it to much, BUT!. I got 2 gliches to report.

Using World Map 1.5C

1. While doing a test in the wilderness if I were to check a sleeping potential victim's bio it will send me 1 space west, from which I have to travel back east that one space to slay him. is a minor one but I report all bugs I can.

2. 1 one my cities would refuse to be manualy placed on the map, infact it kept throwing it'self at the coordinates 0X, 0Y. it's impossible to reach but you can leave and walk 1N and 1E and end up on the bottom left corner of the map. This city was one of the multiple cities, how ever my other 3 multiple cites, orignal town and Ice town worked fine. I'm not sure what this issue is but it's a glich and i'll report it.
Logged
CortalUX
Dwellings Project
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 796


Wogga! Meep!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: February 17, 2005, 10:57:30 AM »

Not sure about other templates, but the '`c' isn't closed on line 224.
It should be:
Code:
output("`cYou have reached the outer gates of the city.`c");
not
Code:
output("`cYou have reached the outer gates of the city.");
messes up the 'jade' template   Smiley
Logged
CortalUX
Dwellings Project
Mod God
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 796


Wogga! Meep!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: February 18, 2005, 06:29:11 AM »

Yeah I'll get that corrected. I'm sure there are *many* little textual issues. But that has been the least of my worries so I have been fixing what I see. Not really been searching for those problems.

Hopefully soon I will be able to spend some more time just going over everything with detail.

Thanks for the heads up
No problem:)
This is coming along great, and it's not laggy, Smiley
« Last Edit: February 18, 2005, 06:29:47 AM by CortalUX » Logged
Lightbringer
Member
Codemeister
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 267


Life's a lich and then you don't die...damn unlife


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: February 19, 2005, 07:08:35 PM »

WOW

This module has become quite a must-have mod...

Congrats, Arune and all who contributed...good stuff

Smiley
Logged

________________________ _____________________

Lightbringer
PHP/SQL/VB.NET/C#/AJAX Developer
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 22   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


*
DragonPrime Notices
Please take the time to read the FAQ and browse the DragonPedia

Support Us
No funds raised yet this year
Your help is greatly appreciated!
Recent Topics
DragonPrime LoGD
Who's Online
108 Guests, 0 Users
Home Forums News Downloads Login Register Advanced Search