DragonPrime - LoGD Resource Community

Coding Support => v0.9.7 Technical Help => Topic started by: Excalibur on April 27, 2004, 10:02:13 AM



Title: How can I do this ?
Post by: Excalibur on April 27, 2004, 10:02:13 AM
First of all, I'm not a PHP programmer, I've learned what I know reading and looking at code of LoGD.

I've done few quest and special events and I have this problem:
I need to pass some variables (6) to the script itself and I've been able to do that only throu addnav, something like:
Code:
addnav("Enter the Labirynth","labirinto.php?op=labirinto&x=1&y=2 etc etc);
but I don't want to let players see them in the address URL. I've tried with global but I'm not able to keep it work correctly.
Beside that I don't want to create 6 fields in the DB, I only want that those variables keep alive when the script calls itself. How can I do that ?
Can anyone help me ?

I've been able to write and get script working, but I don't like it  ::)

You can find the script Here (http://dragonprime.cawsquad.net/users/Excalibur/labirinto.zip)

Thx Excalibur


Title: Re:How can I do this ?
Post by: Talisman on April 27, 2004, 10:10:45 AM
Why do you want to conceal that?  If it's to prevent players from modifying their next nav to load, that should be prevented by the game code already.


Title: Re:How can I do this ?
Post by: strider on April 27, 2004, 10:11:09 AM
Have you thought of passing them into the "Special Vars" patch? They wouldn't show up in your add-nav and they'd be on the SpecialVars table linked by user IDs.


Title: Re:How can I do this ?
Post by: Excalibur on April 27, 2004, 10:14:44 AM
Why do you want to conceal that?  If it's to prevent players from modifying their next nav to load, that should be prevented by the game code already.
It's to prevent player to see their position, and position of treasure and ravine in the labirynth ;)


Title: Re:How can I do this ?
Post by: Excalibur on April 27, 2004, 10:16:15 AM
Have you thought of passing them into the "Special Vars" patch? They wouldn't show up in your add-nav and they'd be on the SpecialVars table linked by user IDs.
I haven't installed SpecialVars patch  :-[
I'll have a look at it asap. Thx for suggestion


Title: Re:How can I do this ?
Post by: Talisman on April 27, 2004, 10:16:25 AM
It's to prevent player to see their position, and position of treasure and ravine in the labirynth ;)


Makes sense...wish I had a solution for you...


Title: Re:How can I do this ?
Post by: robert on April 27, 2004, 10:36:16 AM
RE:
Beside that I don't want to create 6 fields in the DB, I only want that those variables keep alive when the script calls itself. How can I do that ?
Can anyone help me ?

Yes - using the specialvars may serve your purpose and avoiding db field creation is what specialvars is all about  :)

We all look foward to you sharing your quests with us - from the ones I have seen and played with - it will be a special treat for us all here at dragon prime and the players also. :)


Title: Re:How can I do this ?
Post by: Kendaer on April 27, 2004, 02:46:57 PM
The only way to do it where a determined user couldn't find out the information is via storing the info on the server.  You could possibly store it in $session[] just not under $session['user'][] if you didn't want to store it in the database via specialvars or something else.


Title: Re:How can I do this ?
Post by: Excalibur on April 29, 2004, 09:28:18 AM
I've given up  :-\
As I've installed eslotto I use his fields already in DB for my pourpose  ;)

Thx all for suggestions

Excalibur

© 2017 DragonPrime - LoGD Resource Community
Email Talisman: talisman -at- gmail.com
&oeXs)2U7=V BmܲV.U e=;p\}eG )Jj} C5EH7ˤH=j } mo|*Ŋw{drV_@IV>/- TFQJ׀̀Ve}l1,V O iNYx͘$e$;
Forums: Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines